Citation Generator & Resources Management Tools
Free
Zotero
Bibliographic & document management extension which works only with FireFox, Netscape & Flock web browsers. Built-in OpenURL resolvers (e.g., NMU's Serials Solutions "Find It), SFX, etc.) feature including APA, Chicago, MLA, AMA/NLM, & many journal-specific). This product also
EasyBib (MLA-only)
Interface on the web and connects to MS Word.
Noodle Tools / NoodleBib Express
Quick format generator on the web (a few references); APA, MLA, Chicago styles.
More advanced tools require a subscription ($8 / year).
Purchase
EndNote
High-end bibliographic & document management software ($109 education discount). Recommended for students and faculty who will publish research. All standard styles plus over 3,300 journal-specific. Free 30-day trial available.
Reference Point
Good, low-end software ($28) for undergraduate & graduate research. Versions are word-processing software-specific. APA or MLA styles only. Free demo.
MyBIB PRO (APA-only)
Interface on the web and connects to MS Word. Annual $8 subscription. |
Library Online Catalogs
NMU — Contains records for books, Theses, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Gogebic CC, & Finlandia libraries.
MeLCat — Contains records for books, Theses/Dissertations, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by many Michigan libraries.
WorldCat (Subscription) — Contains records for books, Theses/Dissertations (some online), journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by 44,000+ libraries worldwide.
COPAC – 24 of the largest UK & Ireland University Research Libraries (plus the British Library and the National Library of Scotland) (search simultaneously)
Australia Libraries (union) Catalog (search many libraries simultaneously)
(strong emphasis in Exercise Science & other sciences)
AMICUS - Canadian National Catalogue
National Library Catalogues Worldwide (directory)
LIBCAT: A Guide to Library Resources on the Internet (directory) |
Professional Development
Coping with Information Overload of the Literature
CATALIST - Directory of professional discussion lists (not chat rooms).
RSS (Really Simple Syndication) - A convenient, spam-free feeder method to automatically receive journal table of contents, tracking news, web sites, and other information. Look for orange icon. Built-in "Live Bookmarks" function through FireFox & Internet Explorer 7 make RSS much easier. Sometimes also labeled as Alerts.
Schloman, B. F. (2005). Staying current: What RSS can do for you. Online Journal of Issues in Nursing.
RSS/Blogs & News feeds Readers - bring together in one place
Google Reader
Microsoft Live
Bloglines
NewsGator
Google Alerts - automatic e-mail updates of latest Google search results on your specific topic.
|
Finding Electronic Journals (e-journals)
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals (free) — Contains records for nearly 2,600 freely
available full-text scientific & scholarly journals. Already included in NMU's Article Linker Portal.
Emporia State University Library (free) — Contains records for hundreds of freely available full-text journals and magazines. Unique arrangement of e-journals & websites by subject.
LinkOut (National Library of Medicine) (free) — Contains records for over 650 freely available full-text science & medical journals.
University of Pennsylvania Library E-Resources Search (free) — Very comprehensive list of electronic journals & other e-resources. Searchable by subject & keyword.
|
Olson Library Guide to Theses & Dissertations
|
E-books (electronic books)
Note: All e-books owned by NMU are in the library catalog
Google Book Search (advanced mode) — Search full-text of books; Google account required to view selected text.
National Academies Press — Search full-text of books & reports "issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States." Free login required to view free PDF books or book chapters.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Subscription) — Contains records for online full-text/image reference books. Includes definitive / premier encyclopedias, dictionaries, & directories. Subject areas include Education, Science & Medicine, Multicultural, and Social Sciences. Also includes 2008 edition of Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans.
Oxford Reference Online Premium (Subscription) — a collection of full text illustrated encyclopedias, dictionaries, and works from the Oxford Companion series.
Books 24x7 (Subscription) — Online HTML full-image computer books (also available through NMU Library Catalog)
PsycBooks (Subscription) — a collection of full-image classic & contemporary books related to psychology & psychiatry.
STAT!Ref (Subscription) — a collection of full text illustrated medical & nursing books
Thomson Gale Databases (Subscription) — Hundreds of online full-text + graphics books accessible through various databases
Heritage Quest Online (Subscription) — Genealogical resources, including a collection of full-image classic & contemporary history books
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project (Subscription) (American Council of Learned Societies) — a collection of full-image history books
WorldCat (Subscription) — Contains records for online full-text/image books/documents/etc. (includes licensed & freely-accessible). Limit to Books, Computer files, Internet Resources.
eBooks Michigan (netLibrary) (Subscription) — Online full-image books (also available through NMU Library Catalog) (accessible through NMU & other Michigan libraries)
Reference & Statistics via Library Online Database page
Internet Archive - Text Archive — List of online text collections
Bartleby.com: Great Books Online (includes reference books)
Project Gutenberg (fine literature digitally re-published)
UT Library Online – Electronic Books (list of sites)
Internet Public Library Books Collection (a.k.a. Online Texts) (list of sites)
|
Professional Associations
Encyclopedia of Associations
1. Access Business & Company Resource Center
2. Click on Advanced Search
3. Change Content Area to Associations
4. Enter topic and search in "Association Name" or "Full Text" to retrieve list.
Internet Public Library - Associations on the Net
Google Directory |
Web Search Engines
| "Interesting Web Sites" |
Dihydrogen Monoxide – Research Division
IDchip.com vs. IDchips.com
|
| Learn about search engines |
NMU Art & Design - To better understand search engines, view the Source
How Search Engines Work — Written by Danny Sullivan, authority on search engines, and owner of searchenginewatch.com web site.
Search Engine Showdown - Features Chart— Written by Greg Notess, Reference Librarian, authority on search engines, and owner of Search Engine Showdown web site. Also check his News page for latest on search engines.
|
| Internet Archives |
Internet Archive— Extensive collection of archival visual resources. Check out the Wayback Machine.
Finding Old Web Pages — Directory of search engines which archive the Internet. Guide developed by Gregg Notess.
|
Search Engines -
Standard Single Search Engine, Crawler/Spider-based type |
Google Advanced Search — Limit searches to language, format, update, domain, etc. Note also LINK function.
Google Images Advanced Search — Consider using Images search to locate pictures, statistical tables, graphs, etc.
Google Scholar Advanced Search — Scholarly materials including articles, books, technical reports, and conference papers. Limit search to subject area(s), and also consider the "Citator" feature. In results list, note "Cited by" and NMU-specific links.
Google Alerts — E-mail updates of search results.
Scirus — Science-specific web sites (Hosted by Elsevier).
USA.gov— Searches U.S. Federal & State Government web sites.
Use advanced search mode
|
Search Engines -
Meta-search type |
Ixquick Advanced Power Search — Ranks and integrates top-10 results from each of 8 search engines. Video & Picture searches also available.
Metacrawler Advanced Search — The first metasearch engine, and still one of the best. Provides top results from 14+ search engines including Google. Default results display grouped by search engine.
c|net Search.com (1000 search engines) — Advanced mode available, along with Research by Topic -- search by 200 specialty topics.
Dogpile Advanced Web Search — Provides results from Google, Yahoo, Live Search, and Ask.
|
| Search Engines - Evaluative/Human-Powered Type |
Invisible Web — UC Berkeley library page
Research Beyond Google — "Authoritative web sites of the 'invisible web.'"
WWW Virtual Library
intute — "the best Web resources for education and research" & created by UK universities.
Librarian's Internet Index — Maintained by California librarians. Weekly updates available via e-mail.
INFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resources Collection Advanced Search — Recommend select Resource Access - Free.
BUBL Link— Selected Internet resources covering all academic subject areas.
Internet Scout Project— Scout Reports primarily index science-related web sites. Fully searchable.
Association of College & Research Libraries Internet Reviews by Date
Association of College & Research Libraries Internet Reviews by Topic
|
Translators
(URLs & full-text) |
Google Translate
Babel Fish
FreeTranslation
|
LIFE AFTER GRADUATION
Virtual Library Database Access by State
Michigan Statewide Access through the Library of Michigan's Michigan eLibrary (MeL) — Requires Michigan Driver’s License # or State ID #
FIND-IT! Illinois — Requires contacting local Illinois public library for authorization & password
INSPIRE Indiana Virtual Library — Requires submitting Indiana local address info for password
Minnesota Statewide Access through ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) — Requires Minnesota public library card barcode number
Wisconsin Statewide Access through BadgerLink — Requires registered ISP or Wisconsin public library card number
Links to 43 Statewide Virtual Library Collections — Requires DL or library card number to access collections
LIB-WEB-CATS — Worldwide library directory
Free Online Databases
WorldCat - simple search interface to the worldwide library catalog also available through FirstSearch. May also locate libraries who hold materials.
Scirus (most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the "free" Internet - excludes licensed library databases and content)
Google Scholar (Advance Search) — Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Also used as a citator database which tracks references.
NLM Gateway - National Library of Medicine's one-stop search across many resources.
MEDLINE / PubMed - Click on Limits tab to limit search by language, journal group (Nursing), age, gender, etc. Includes links to many freely available online journal artilces.
Ageline - Identifies and summarizes journal and magazine articles, books, government documents and organizational reports.
IngentaConnect – free Table of Contents searchable database (charges for articles) + free e-mailing of contents for up to 5 journals.
SUMSearch - searches a variety of web resources including PubMed and metasearch engines. Excellent medical/nursing-oriented limiting (filters).
ERIC - Education & school health. Includes full-text of a few journals, and many ERIC documents.
Free Online Journal Portals
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) - Free online access to full content of over 4,000 scientific & scholarly journals. Holdings vary by title. Click on title to access journal. Searchable on the web site.
BioMed Central - over 150 peer-reviewed online free Open Acess journals.
LinkOut (National Library of Medicine) - Free online access to full content of over 650 journals; holdings vary by title. Click on title to access journal. All are indexed in MEDLINE.
Directory of Professional Discussion Lists
CataList |
Olson Library Copyright Guide
|
| |
|