Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


Honors 101 Origin of Western Values

Dr. C. Z. Krzakowski

Library Resource Guide


Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 


Literary Criticism Sources

Library Catalog
When looking for literary criticism or biographical information in the library catalog, select the Library of Congress Subject Heading button and enter the author's name (ex. Virgil).  Pay particular attention to the subheading Criticism and Interpretation (Virgil - Criticism and Interpretation).

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to the and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. When searching for your particular work, change the drop-down menu on the search screen to "All Text (tx)" for best results.

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature. Use the button to determine if the library owns a particular book or journal article.

Google Scholar
To find more sources on your topic, look for work that has cited items that you've already found. Go to Google Scholar, paste the title of the work you want to search, then click the link that says "CIted by" in the citation. You'll get a look at the scholarly works that have cited the work you started with.


Electronic Journal Collections

JSTOR
A collection of electronic journals. Includes complete runs of scholarly journals, excluding the most recent years (the "moving wall"). Scroll down on the search screen to Narrow by Discipline, and choose Classical Studies to narrow your search to those 83 journals. Enter your search terms.

Project MUSE
Another electronic journal collection, but smaller. It does include the most recent years of the journals, however. It also includes e-books. Select Literature > Ancient and Classical or History > Ancient and Classical to limit your search to the appropriate areas. Some of your topics might also fall into the category Women's Studies, Gender, and Sexuality.


Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries

If our library doesn't have the books you need, you should then search MeLCat, the Michigan electronic Library Catalog. You can request items from over 400 public and academic libraries in the state of Michigan. You will usually receive items requested through MeLCat in about a week.

Worldwide, use WorldCat  (Note: To retrieve & view online theses & dissertations, enter key words, click on "Internet Resources" & change "Any Content" drop box to "Thesis/dissertation." Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.


MLA Style

Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

Zotero
Collect and format your citations using either the Mozilla Firefox extension or the standalone version. Instructions are available in the Zotero: Installation and User Guide and Zotero: NMU Customization Guide. More advanced information is available at Zotero. Most databases will have a mechanism to allow you to save citations to Zotero (if a small folder appears next to the URL on your results list page, you can click the folder to select items to save to Zotero).

Need Further Assistance?

Contact Mollie Freier (or phone 227-1061). You may also stop by the Public Services Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Pulic Services Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2250.

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours