AD100 Art & Design Experience
Library Resource Guide
Library Materials
Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.
The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.). See Journal and Magazine Articles below for locating articles.
eBooks (NetLibrary)
A collection of more than 19,500 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook. You can view the book for 15 minutes (no account needed) or checkout the book for 6 hours (requires creating a free account).
ACLS Humanities E-book
A collection of high-quality full-text books in all areas of history, including art history. These scholarly works are of major importance to historical studies which are frequently cited in the literature. Includes in-print, out-of-print, and rare titles. Included are over 1,200 books with 250 titles added annually covering the period of 1900 to present.
Journal and Magazine Articles
WilsonSelectPlus
More than 600,000 full-text, full-image articles from over 1,600 professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines covering a broad range of subjects and disciplines. Coverage begins in 1994.
General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services. Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.
MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature. Use the button to determine if the library owns a particular book or journal article.
Humanities Abstracts (1984-present)
Index to scholarly journal articles from all areas of the humanities including literature.
Art Resources
CAMIO
CAMIO, the Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a collection of images from leading art museums , and many of the works are accompanied by sound, video and curatorial notes. All content is rights-cleared for educational use, lectures, presentations, class projects, and research. All visual media are represented, with a particular strength in contemporary art. It includes images of visual art in all media. High-resolution images are included for each work of art. There are 95,000 works of art (and growing) covering the period of 3000 BC - the present.
ArtAbstracts
Index to scholarly periodical articles in the arts. Subject areas include archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. Provides an index to reproductions of works of art that appear in any of the indexed publications. Includes 410 English and foreign language magazines and journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins covering the period of 1984 to present; abstracts since 1994. Updated monthly.
NMU Slide Collection (IMS)
A searchable listing of 35 mm slides held in Instructional Media Services.
Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries
Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library. Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive. Consult the above link to submit a request and for further details.
MLA Style
MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Need Further Assistance?
Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources. You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.
|