Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


AD375 Perception and Visual Form
Library Resource Guide

Basics:

Chicago Style Guide
This guide includes some of the more common examples for citing references as end notes or in bibliographies. Chicago style dictates that all references are indented and single-spaced . The examples are based on guidelines listed in the The Chicago Manual of Style (15th edition, 2003) . This source is located in the Library's reference collection under the following call number: Ref Z 253 .U69 2003.

Plagiarism will be punished with appropriate academic sanctions. Refer to NMU Student Rights and Responsibilities (Section 1.2.3) and the Student Code (Section 2.2.3)

Find images at the following sites:

ARTstor - - A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Images can be used for noncommercial educational and scholarly uses.

CAMIO
CAMIO, the Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a collection of images from leading art museums , and many of the works are accompanied by sound, video and curatorial notes. All content is rights-cleared for educational use, lectures, presentations, class projects, and research. All visual media are represented, with a particular strength in contemporary art. It includes images of visual art in all media. High-resolution images are included for each work of art. There are 95,000 works of art (and growing) covering the period of 3000 BC - the present.

Find general information describing art works and mediums:

Reference works such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, or general art books.

Art Cyclopedia
A comprehensive index of artists represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources. Update January/2006: have now indexed over 2,300 art sites , and offer over 95,000 links to an estimated 180,000 artworks by 8,200 renowned artists .

World Wide Art Resources
The largest site for contemporary art, art news, art history, contemporary artist and gallery portfolios, online since 1995.

American Memory Project
Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience

Countries and Their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
Provides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Drawing on the latest edition of the higly praised Oxford Classical Dictionary, the Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.

Find specific sources for formal analysis:

Type of material=books

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers . Note: The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).

eBooks (EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 19,500 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook. You can view the book for 15 minutes (no account needed) or checkout the book for 6 hours (requires creating a free account).

ACLS Humanities E-book
A collection of high-quality full-text books in all areas of history, including art history. These scholarly works are of major importance to historical studies which are frequently cited in the literature. Includes in-print, out-of-print, and rare titles. Included are over 1,200 books with 250 titles added annually covering the period of 1900 to present.

Type of material=journal articles

CrossSearch
This link will search multiple resources for articles on art, a wide range of popular topics, as well as biographical information. In one search you can select from the list of listed databases and search all at once. Or you may search individually, the following databases:

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature. Use the button to determine if the library owns a particular book or journal article.

JSTOR
The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Journals are divided into 47 disciplines including, but not limited to, anthropology, art history, biological sciences, business, botany & ecology, economics, education, history, language & literature, law, music, philosophy, political science, sociology, and zoology. Date of Coverage: 1878 to "moving wall" (each journal has a "moving wall" of 1-5 years before the most recently published issue).

Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the above link to submit a request and for further details.

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources. 
You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.
You may also contact Krista E. Clumpner for assistance.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours