Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


 

AN 100: Introduction to Sociocultural Anthropology
Dr. Alex Ruuska

Reference Resources (available in the Reference Collection unless otherwise noted).

Dictionary of Anthropology (Oxford: 1997), online and in reference. GN307 .D485 1997

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (Holt: 1996). GN307 .E52 1996

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology, volumes 1 and 2. REF RA 418 .E354 2004. Volume 1 covers topics; volume 2 covers cultures. Each entry contains references.

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (Routledge: 1998) (online).

Encyclopedia of World Cultures (G.K. Hall: 1991). GN307 .E53 1997

Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music and Art (ABC-CLIO: 1997). GR35 .F63 1997

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (Macmillian: 1968-1979). H40 .A2 I5 (online)

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (Oxford: 2003). P29 .I58 2003

Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology (Greenwood: 1991). GN 307 .W56 1991

Cultural anthropology: a guide to reference and information sources. (Libraries Unlimited, 2007). GN2 .J33 2007.

Oxford Reference Online. Contains over 120 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. You can browse individual works or search across the entire collection. Has a unique cross-reference tool that allows you to highlight and click on a word to find it in other reference sources in the collection. Also, for each entry there is an extensive web of cross-references and links.

Print & Electronic Resources Available at NMU

Specific Databases & Resources

Anthropological Index Online. Citations only. Anthropological index from the Anthropology Library at the British Museum. Take what you have found and search in OneSearch or Google Scholar.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project. A collection of high-quality full-text books in all areas of history. These scholarly works are of major importance to historical studies which are frequently cited in the literature. Includes in-print, out-of-print, and rare titles.

America: History and Life. Includes citations from journals covering history and culture, area studies, and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Also includes book and media reviews.

JSTOR. Complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Search across 47 disciplines in the Social Sciences or limit your search to just Anthropology.

Google Scholar. Quite a bit can be foung through this resource. Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a “cited by” feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference as well as a "related articles".

Directory of Open Access Journals. Free, full-text online scholarly journals. Search across 17 listed disciplines or narrow your search to a specific field (click the "expand subject tree")

ARTstor. A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Images can be used for noncommercial educational and scholarly uses.

Other NMU and WWW Resources

The Olson Library Catalog, Melcat, and WorldCat: three sources for publications. The latter two resources require the book to be interlibrary loaned: plan ahead.

Electronic resources coverning Anthropology available through NMU. Don't forget the Geography listing of that page for additional resurces.

American Memory Project from the Library of Congress. "American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." Also at the Library of Congress American Folklife Center is a collection of ethnographic resources.

AN 320: Native People of North America course guide. Print and electronic resources available at NMU on this subject. Also, AN382 Health, Society & Culture.

Anthropology Resources on the Internet. Guiding you to scholarly Anthropological resources available on the Internet since 1995.

The American Anthropological Association lists resources available on the Internet.

Archeology and Anthropology links from the Voice of the Shuttle, a rather interesting collection of links in many disciplines from UC Santa Barbara. Another collection of Anthropology links, albeit smaller, is from USA People Search.

NativeWeb. Resources for indigenous cultures from around the world.

Internet Directories of Anthropology Resources. The resources listed may or may not be freely available. Yahoo, google, Open Directory Project, and Infomine (scholarly resources).

Anthrosource. Another resource from the America Anthropological Association. Although NMU only subscribes (or has access to) to some of the journals listed, visitors to this website can search all the issues without a subscription. The list of journals we can see: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, and the Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology. If you find an article you'd like in a journal we don't have, request it from another library. If you need assistance, chat us up.

Anthropology links from Intute, a consortium of seven universities in Britain. Search across 15 categories, or dig deeper with the full subject browse.

Evaluating Internet Resources. You've been surfing for years now, but do you ask yourself these questions when you land on a website? Do you examine what you find?

Citing

American Anthropological Association Styleguide. The Association's citation style is based upon the Chicago Manual of Style.

Zotero. A free program that helps you organize your resources. Works only in the Firefox browser. NMU has posted some tutorials.

If you need help with any of these resources (or found some others you'd like to see added), ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294), use the live chat, or contact Bruce Sarjeant, Reference, Documents & Maps Librarian (227-1580).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours