Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


AN 210 Ecological Anthropology: People, Nature and Culture.

Dr. Alex Ruuska

Course guide created by Bruce Sarjeant

Reference Resources

Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An Encyclopedia. REF GF50 .J65 2003.

Terms of Environment: Glossary, Abbreviations and Acronyms. Online dictionary from the EPA.

Conservation and Enviromnentalism: An Encyclopedia. REF GF10 .C68 1995 (there are similar publications adjacent to this one, such as Encyclopedia of Environmental issues. REF GE10 .E52 2000).

Blackwell's Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology.

A Dictionary of Ecology. An older copy resides in the Reference Collection: REF QH 540.4 .C66 1998.

Encyclopedia of consumption and waste: the social science of garbage. Edited by Carl A. Zimring. The author has a blog.

Environmental anthropology today. Kopnina, Helen, and Shoreman-Ouimet, Eleanor.

Handbook of Global Environmental Politics.

Electronic resources coverning Anthropology available through NMU. Don't forget the Geography listing of that page for additional resurces.

A few general call numbers to be aware of: D, E and F (History), GF (Human Ecology. Anthropogeography) and GN (Anthropology). In the Reference shelves on the 2nd floor of the LRC will be a small yet relevant collection of publications on cultures/groups around the world. Browsing the shelves there will perhaps point you in the direction of a cultural group.

Library Resources

OneSearch is your one-stop shop: newspaper, magazine, and journal articles, the library catalog's materials–books, government documents, videos, etc.—are all included in the results. Take advantage of your post-search limiting.

These 28 databases/resources aren't included in the search, which can be limiting if your topic falls under one their subjects.

Click on the Catalog tab above to search only the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

Additional resources for books, which you are encouraged to use, are the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog. Resources found here will need to be interlibrary loaned.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.

If you have the name of a cultural group in mind already, look for resources specific to them or their geographic area.

Individual Databases

The following databases contained journals on ecology as well as Anthropology.

America: History & Life
Academic OneFile
JSTOR
Science Direct
Wiley InterScience Journals
Anthropoligical Index Online
Google Scholar
Directory of Open Access Journals : Free, full-text scholarly journals. Click on the "Expand Subject Tree" for specific subjects.
Wiley-Blackwell contains a number of AAA publications--many are accessible for NMU students while others are not. Articles needed that aren't accessible can be interlibrary loaned.

Internet Resources

From the Open Directory Project comes their list of Ecology-related websites, environmentalism-related websites, and nature conservation-related websites.

Try google's advanced search for a more precise online search, and if you find a website that "looks good", give it the once over with these questions.

Environmental Response Television, which supports the Environmental Protection Agency's Environmental Response Team, has free broadcast-quality streaming videos available online. Not all are available.

Citing

American Anthropological Association Styleguide. The Association's citation style is based upon the Chicago Manual of Style.

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources. You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294, or the creator of this course guide, Bruce Sarjeant, Reference Librarian (227-1580), LRC 234.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours