Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


AN 320: Native Peoples of North America

Reference Resources (available in the Reference Collection unless otherwise noted).

Oxford Reference Online. Full-text reference collection covering subjects from art & architrecture to science.

Handbook of Indians North of Mexico. Hodge, Frederick Webb.
E51 .U6 no.30, volumes 1&2

Encyclopedia of North American Indians. Hoxie, Frederick E., editor.
E 76.2 .E53 1996, 3rd floor. (also available as an ebook).

Handbook of North American Indians. Sturtevant, William C., general editor. This series has been years in the making and is not yet complete. A second set (nearly complete) is available for checkout on the 3rd floor. Call number E76.2 .H36, volumes 2-15, 17.

  • v. 2. Indians in contemporary society / Garrick A. Bailey, volume ed.
  • v. 3. Environment, origins, and population
  • v. 4. History of Indian-White relations / Wilcomb E. Washburn, volume ed.
  • v. 5. Arctic
  • v. 6. Subarctic
  • v. 7. Northwest coast
  • v. 8. California
  • v. 9. Southwest
  • v. 10. Southwest
  • v. 11. Great Basin
  • v. 12. Plateau
  • v. 13. Plains
  • v. 14. Southeast / Raymond D. Fogelson, volume editor
  • v. 15. Northeast
  • v. 17. Languages

A Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples. Pritzker, Barry M.
E76.2 .P75 2000, in reference and 3rd floor.

Historical and Statistical Information Respecting the History, Condition, and Prospects of the Indian Tribes of the United States. Schoolcraft, Henry Rowe.
E77 .S383, volumes 1-6

Handbook of Indians of Canada. Hodge, Frederick Webb.
E78.C2 H6 1971, in reference and 3rd floor.

Native American Ethnobotany. Moerman, Daniel E.
E 98 .B7 M66 1998

Handbook of Middle American Indians. Wauchope, Robert, general editor.
F1434 .H3, volumes 1-16, 3rd floor.

The Indians of Central and South America: an Ethnohistorical Dictionary. Olson, James S.
F 1434 .O45 1991, 3rd floor.

Handbook of Latin American Studies. University of Texas (Austin) Press.
F 1406 .H23 (volumes 1-46), 3rd floor. Also available online.

Atlas of the North American Indian, 3rd edition. Waldman, Carl.
G1106 .E1 W3 2009. Latest in reference, older editions on 3rd floor.

Bureau of American Ethnology Annual Reports. Smithsonian Institute, Bureau of American Ethnology (BAE). E 51 U55, volumes 2-4, 3rd floor. Also online from the National Library of France. List of publications of the BAE can be found at this link.

There are a few different subject headings to use: "Native Peoples", "Indigenous Peoples", "Indians", "Indians of North America", "Indians of Mexico", or "Indians of Central America" when you are searching the library catalog. Adding individual tribes or cultural attirbutes with these can narrow down your search. This holds true for the WorldCat and (sort of) MelCat catalogs as well.

You can search for news stories in OneSearch or use Access World News directly, which allows limiting searches by state.

U.S. Government Links

Bureau of Indian Affairs. Established in 1824, this is the oldest bureau in the Department of the Interior. Information can be found on many topics including: economic development, gaming, education, self-determination, self-government.

United States Senate Committee on Indian Affairs. Re-established in 1977. The Committee has jurisdiction to study the unique problems of American Indian, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native peoples and to propose legislation to alleviate these difficulties. List of publications from this committee back to 1985.

The House, within the the Committee on Natural Resources, has the subcommittee Indian, Insular and Alaska Native Affairs.

Some general resources incude the Catalog of Government Publications and USA.gov. The Bureau of Indian Affairs has a .pdf document with all tribes and their websites.

Canada: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, and the Assembly of First Nations.

US Census data on American Indian & Alaskan Native Tribes, and Aboriginal Peoples from StatsCanada.

Internet Resources and Directories of Native American Cultures.

Databases at NMU: I will refer you back to the Electronic Resources Available at NMU section of the AN 100 Course guide. The OneSearch feature, shown above, searches across many databases.

Electronic resources coverning Anthropology available through NMU.
Don't forget the Geography listing of that page for additional resurces.

National Indian Education Association
Under their Research tab are links to statistics, reports, and the Native American Education Associations in each state. Also on the webiste is a list of tribal colleges and universities as well as links to NAS programs in the US.

Arctic Circle
Collection of links from the University of Connecticut on peoples of the Arctic--not limited to North America.

Native American Links
Resources compiled in conjunction with the American Indian Library Association (their list of resources is good, too).

List of Federal Websites For and About American Indians from the Oklahoma State Library, and a list of resources for Michigan Tribal Libaries.

News media, TV & Radio links from Nativeweb and additional media links from Tribal Court Clearinghouse.

Latin American Network and Information Center
Extensive list of resources including society and culture, geography and environment, social sciences, and humaities.

Regarding Internet resources, you've been surfing for years now, but do you ask yourself these questions when you land on a website? Do you have the guts to use a resource you've found online without checking it out first? And regarding this class, Techniques for Evaluating American Indian Web Sites.

Canada: List of First Nations periodicals (and other media) from wikipedia, Nationtalk (daily Aboriginal specific news), Firstnationsseeker--organized by language group or region in North America with links to official websites. Bow Valley College has a library resource page similar to this one as does Thompson Rivers University and Vancouver Community College.

The Open Directory Project: Indigenous Peoples of the Americas.

Index of Native American Resources on the Internet.

Google Books Advanced Search. A hit-and-miss resource. You might get lucky and find that a book or journal has been digitized.

If you need help with any of these resources, ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294), use the live chat, or contact Bruce Sarjeant, Reference Librarian (227-1580).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours