Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


 

AN 330 Indians of Western Great Lakes

Library Resource Guide

Library Materials

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers .

eBooks (EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 22,000 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook.

Anthropology Search: This link will search multiple resources for articles including JSTOR, Social Sciences abstract, Google scholar, Humanities Abstract and Anthropological Index Online. JSTOR LINK HERE

America: History and Life . Includes citations from journals covering history and culture, area studies, and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Also includes book and media reviews

Government Resources for Tribal Libraries. Not just for librarians. This list contains many links to resources specific to Michigan in addition to nationwide resources.

Historical and Cultural Information Sources.

Bureau of American Ethnology Annual Reports. Smithsonian Institute, Bureau of American Ethnology (BAE). E 51 U55, volumes 2-47. Also online from the National Library of France . List of publications of the BAE can be found here .

AN 320: Native People of North America course guide . Print and electronic resources available at NMU on this subject.

Anthropology Resources on the Internet . Guiding you to scholarly Anthropological resources available on the Internet since 1995.

Anthrosource . Another resource from the America Anthropological Association. Although NMU only subscribes to 6 of the 31 journals listed, users can search all the issues without a subscription.

Clark Historical Library This web site includes an extensive Native American Bibliography, full text of treaties that effect Michigan, including Contemporary and historical issues as well as six case studies.

Bentley Historical Library This resource guide allows the user to browse by tribe and location to access abstract information. Some information is available full text on-line.

Native American Links
Resources compiled in conjunction with the Native American Library Association.

Portals to the Past: A Bibliographical and Resource Guide to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.
By NMU's own Dr. Magnaghi. Native American amd Metis resources begin on page 119.

Citing

American Anthropological Association Styleguide . The Association's citation style is based upon the Chicago Manual of Style .

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours