Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU WebCT

 


AN 382: Health, Society & Culture

Dr. Alex Carroll-Ruuska

Print Resources

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology, volumes 1 and 2. REF RA418 .E354 2004

Native American Ethnobotany. REF E 98 .B7 M66 1998.

Encyclopedia of Medical History. REF R133 .M34 1985

Bibliography of the History of Medicine. NMU Documents HE 20.3615:

International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology. GN 316 .I593.

Selected Medical Anthropological Journals (most available through NMU) and Database Resources:

  • Medical Anthropology Quarterly (earlier name Medical Anthropology Newsletter): Full text online through JSTOR from 1968-2000; indexed in the following databases: Anthropological Index Online, SocialSciAbs, MEDLINE, Wilson Select Plus, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Academic OneFile.

  • Medical Anthropology: Unavailable at NMU, but indexed in the following databases: Anthropological Index Online, MEDLINE, and PsycINFO. You can sneak a peek here from the publisher.

  • Social Science & Medicine RA 418 .S644: Both print and electronic access, 1984-1991, 1997-present. Indexed in the following databases: AHSearch, CINAHL, GEOBASE, SocialSciAbs, MEDLINE, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Academic OneFile.

  • Human Organization GN 1 .H83: Both print and electronic access, 1949-present. Indexed in the following databases: ABI Inform, America: History and Life, Anthropological Index Online, GEOBASE, SocialSciAbs, MEDLINE, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Academic OneFile.

  • Culture, Medicine and Psychiatry: Online from 1997-present. Indexed in the following databases: AHSearch, MEDLINE, ECO, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, SocialSciAbs, Springer, Academic OneFile.

  • Journal of Ethnobiology and Ethnomedicine: Online from 2005-present. Indexed in the following databases: MEDLINE, and MLA.

  • Anthropology & Medicine. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online, CINAHL, ECO, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Academic OneFile.

  • Asclepio. Indexed in America: History & Life, Anthropological Index Online.

  • Cambridge Studies in Medical Anthropology. Not a journal, but an irregular series. Publisher link.

  • Cultura de Los Cuidados. Online from 2006-present. Indexed in CINAHL.

  • Culture, Illness & Healing. Not a journal, but an irregular series. Publisher link.

  • Cultures et Medecines. French. Not a journal, but an irregular series. Publisher link.

  • Curare. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts.

  • Dental Anthropology. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online.

  • Ethnicity & Disease. Indexed in Medline.

  • Ethnomedizin. Indexed in Anthropological Index Online, Medline.

  • Journal of Paleopathology. Publisher's website.

  • Journal of Research in Ayurveda and Siddha. Publisher's website.

  • Medecines du Monde. French. Not a journal, but an irregular series. Publisher's website.

  • Medicina Antropologica. Argentinian. Publisher's website.

  • Sexologi. Norwegian. Publisher's website.

  • Transcultural Psychiatry. Online from 1964-present. Indexed in CINAHL, Sage, Medline, ECO, PsychINFO, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts .

Direct links to databases listed above: ABI Inform, Academic OneFile, America: History & Life, Anthropological Index Online, AHSearch, CINAHL, ECO, GEOBASE, MEDLINE (PubMed), MEDLINE (FirstSearch), MLA, PsychINFO, Sage, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, SocialSciAbs, Springer, and Wilson Select Plus.

List of Anthropology journals indexed in MEDLINE. Includes some titles not listed above.

Google Scholar. Search for resources within the social sciences field, medical field, or across many disciplines.

NMU Library Catalog and for searching farther afield, WorldCat. Search with subject terms such as anthropology, “medical anthropology”, “medicine, traditional”, ethnobotany, ethnobiology, “traditional medicine”, "social medicine", "anthropology, cultural".

Interlibrary Loan of resources. Plan ahead; get your books or articles early. Register for this now if you have not already done so!

Internet Resources

Society for Medical Anthropology, a subgroup of the American Anthropological Association. Contains links to resources, news, journal information, contacts in the field, etc.

Native American Ethnobotany. Database from Daniel Moerman at U-M Dearborn (author of Native American Ethnobotany, listed above under Print Resources). Briefly cites the original publications where a reference to the plant and its use was mentioned, and then links to the USDA description of the plant.

Bibliography of Medicinal Plants from the Library of Congress, and one of Ethnobotany of the Americas.

Links from the Canadian Association for Physical Anthropology.

MedAnth (A lot of Anthropology instructors had linked to this. Looks a bit suspect to me).

Medical Anthropology links from the Social Science Information Gateway.

Infomine: A scholarly resource search engine.

Medical Anthropology Glossary: The root website itself (from Palomar College), Cultural Anthropology Resources, has additional resources.

Demographic & Health Surveys from Measure DHS. Profiles 75 countries with information about "health, nutrition, HIV, and population". Includes customizable data sets.

The International Union of the Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences website has a Commission on Medical Anthropology & Epidemiology. Current and back issues of the IUAES Newsletter are available.

Citing

American Anthropological Association Styleguide. The Association's citation style is based upon the Chicago Manual of Style. A print copy of the Chicago Manual of Style can be found in the reference collection: REF Z253 .U69 2003.

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294, or the creator of this course guide, Bruce Sarjeant, Reference Librarian (227-1580).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours