Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


ATR 320: Advanced Assessment Techniques in Athletic Training I
Library Resource Guide

 

For help with any of these resources, contact Kevin McDonough, through the IM window on the right, email (kmcdonou@nmu.edu), or phone (227-2118).

Books and E-references

Library Catalog
Contains the books, government documents, and audio-visual materials in Olson Library and three other libraries in the U.P. You can search under specific body parts--Anterior cruciate ligament or knee--and may have some luck. Also consider searching on broader concepts--knee injuries, sport injuries, athletic injuries, etc.

StatRef
A collection of full text, medical e-books. Approximately 60 titles are included.


Journal Articles

PubMed
Provides unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature, including sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, and other topics relevant to exercise science. Provides some full text links.

Sport Discus
Provides literature relating to sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment, and more.

Google Scholar
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides unique features, such as relevance ranking of your results, the ability to find "Related Articles", and the opportunity to see other papers that have cited a specific paper.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library contains the best available information about healthcare interventions. This product provides the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.


Other

APA Style Guide
Includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours