Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


BC165 Introduction To Mass Media
Dr. Shuang Xie

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of new media: an essential reference to communication and technology. REF QA76.575 E5368 2003

Dictionary of multimedia, third edition. Online.

Tech terms: what every telecommunications and digital media person should know. Online.

Network dictionary. Online.

Electronic resources coverning Communication available through NMU

Databases and other Resources

In addition to the 8 databases listed for Communication & Performance Studies, consider the following as well:

Sociological Abstracts - Journal articles, books, and other resources on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Subjects include demography, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, social psychology, human biology, women’s studies, health, medicine, law, etc. 1952 to present; abstracts since 1974.

Access World News - Full text coverage of over 600 U.S. and 500 international newspapers, wire services, and news agencies. Dates of coverage varies; primarily 1990’s to present.

ABI/INFORM Global - Journal articles, newspapers, and reports covering all aspects of business. Direct company link to Hoover’s company information & analysis. 1971 to present.

Directory of Open Access Journals - Over 6,100 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

USA.gov. The government's official search engine (the government publishes something on everything).

The Olson Library Catalog, Melcat, and WorldCat: three sources for publications. The latter two resources require the book to be interlibrary loaned: plan ahead (search right now).

Internet Resources

Media Studies: UC Berkeley Library Selected Resources on the Web.

Media Issues from the St. Ambrose University Library.

Center for Media Literacy. The Center for Media Literacy (CML) is an educational organization that provides leadership, public education, professional development and educational resources nationally and internationally. Dedicated to promoting and supporting media literacy education as a framework for accessing, analyzing, evaluating, creating and participating with media content.

Google blog search, and many related blog search sites.

Why limit your online searching to just google (or your favorite)? Pick another search engine from searchenginelist.com and run your search again. You might be surprised at the new resources that come up.

Evaluating Internet Resources: yes, you've been surfing for years now, but do you ask yourself these questions when you land on a website? Do you have the guts to use a resource you've found online without checking it out first?

Citing

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library's Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

Zotero. A free program that helps you organize your resources. Not compatable in IE; use Firefox.

Further Assistance?

If you need help with any of these resources (or found some others you'd like to see added), ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294), use the live chat, or contact Krista E. Clumpner. Guide created by Bruce Sarjeant.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours