Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


 

BC415 Intercultural Communication
Dr. Shuang Xie

Technology tip: Off campus and using either the NMUCLC network OR a non-NMU Internet Service Provider? You will also need to have the Cisco VPN Client (if it is not already there) installed if you continue to be prompted for your username and password when you try and access a database. (warning: will not work with VISTA!!) Mac users, on the other hand, need the one for Macs. WiMax access does not require the VPN.

Reference Resources (available in the Reference Collection unless otherwise noted).

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (Holt: 1996). GN307 .E52 1996

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (Routledge: 1998) (online).

Encyclopedia of World Cultures (G.K. Hall: 1991). GN307 .E53 1997

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (Macmillian: 1968-1979). H40 .A2 I5 (online)

Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology (Greenwood: 1991). GN 307 .W56 1991

Cultural anthropology: a guide to reference and information sources. (Libraries Unlimited, 2007). GN2 .J33 2007.

Oxford Reference Online. Contains over 120 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. You can browse individual works or search across the entire collection. Has a unique cross-reference tool that allows you to highlight and click on a word to find it in other reference sources in the collection. Also, for each entry there is an extensive web of cross-references and links.

Electronic Resources Available at NMU

Usage tip: How do I know what journal articles to use? Popular vs. Scholarly (or peer-reviewed): what's the difference? Is your journal peer-reviewed? If it doesn't appear to indicate this in the record, check using this database.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project. A collection of high-quality full-text books in all areas of history. These scholarly works are of major importance to historical studies which are frequently cited in the literature. Includes in-print, out-of-print, and rare titles.

America: History and Life. Includes citations from journals covering history and culture, area studies, and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Also includes book and media reviews.

Directory of Open Access Journals. Free, full-text online scholarly journals. Search across 17 listed disciplines or narrow your search to a specific field (click the "expand subject tree")

JSTOR. Complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Search across 47 disciplines in the Social Sciences or limit your search to just Anthropology.

Sociological Abstracts (1952-present)
This is the premier database for sociology and related disciplines. Some of the topics covered include culture and social structure, family and social welfare, and demography.  This database covers a wide range of documents including over 1800 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.


Other NMU and WWW Resources

The Olson Library Catalog, Melcat, and WorldCat: three sources for publications. The latter two resources require the book to be interlibrary loaned: plan ahead.

Google Scholar. Quite a bit can be foung through this resource. Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a “cited by” feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference as well as a "related articles".

American Memory Project from the Library of Congress. "American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." Also at the Library of Congress American Folklife Center is a collection of ethnographic resources.

NativeWeb. Resources for indigenous cultures from around the world.

Evaluating Internet Resources. You've been surfing for years now, but do you ask yourself these questions when you land on a website? Do you examine what you find?

Citing

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual for further information or types of sources not listed here. Print copies are found in the Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83).

Zotero. A free program that helps you organize your resources. Works only in the Firefox browser. NMU has posted some tutorials.

Further Assistance?

If you need help with any of these resources (or found some others you'd like to see added), ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294), use the live chat, or contact Krista E. Clumpner ,



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours