Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU WebCT

 


BC 420: Global Communication
Professor: Louise Bourgault

Library Resource Guide

Sources for Books, Videos, & Government Documents

NMU Library Catalog
Search the library catalog to find books and other library materials.  When searching the library catalog, use the keywords "travel" or "description" or "guidebooks" along with your destination. Remember to search for broader locations (mexico for cancun, etc.) if you can't locate enough information on your destination. (Note: You will not find journal articles listed in the library catalog.  Instead, use one of the databases listed below or from the listing of Online Databases).

Peter White Public Library (PWPL) Catalog
Holdings of the Peter White Public Library. Contains a variety of sources dealing with travel including numerous videos. Use the same keywords as listed above. Note: In order to obtain a library card at the PWPL you must live in Marquette or a few of the surrounding townships. You must present valid identification (drivers license and/or piece of mail that shows your local address) when applying for a library card.

Sources for Locating Magazine, Journal, & Newspaper Articles

General OneFile
Over 5,000 full text magazines and journals going back to 1980..

ABI/INFORM Global
The premier index to magazines, journals, and trade publications in all areas of business. Over 1,000 full text publications.

Access World News
Full text coverage of over 600 U.S. and 500 international newspapers, wire services, and news agencies.

WislonSelectPlus
Full text articles from over 1,600 journals going back to 1994.


Internet Sites

BBC News: country profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.

Background Notes
These publications, published by the U.S. Department of State, provide information on the people, government, and economy of countries around the world.

The World Factbook
Published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency this source provides background information on countries of the world. Information includes demography, government, economy, transportation and a number of other topics.

U. S. Department of State
Offers a variety of information for those traveling to foreign destinations. The Travel and Living Abroad section includes travel warnings issued by the Dept. of State as well as public announcements, consular information sheets, and visa/passport information.

Librarians' Index to the Internet
Click on the "travel" link to retrieve an authoritative list of reviewed travel/tourism web sites.

Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory
A directory of national/international tourism offices with accompanying web sites.

Travel and Fares Sites
Expedia.com
Travelocity.com
Orbitz.com

Travel Guides
worldtravelnet
Fodor's
Chambers of Commerce


Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library. Materials such as books and periodical articles, as well as other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to receive requested material is 7-10 days and you will be notified by email when your items arrive. Consult the above link to submit a request and for further details.


Citation Guides

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: BF 76.7 P83


Further Assistance

If you need help with any of these resources you can ask for assistance from the library's Reference Desk in person during open hours , through the live chat, or by phone (227-2294).
Additionally you can contact Krista E. Clumpner , Librarian (227-1205).

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours