Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


BC471: Media and Society
Instructor: Mark Shevy

Prepared by Krista Clumpner

Library Materials

Library Catalog
Contains the books, government documents, and audio-visual materials in Olson Library and three other libraries in the U.P. Books are a great place to get an overview on a subject and help narrow your topic to an answerable question. Also, many books provide links into the journal literature through the inclusion of one or more reference lists.


Subject Specific Databases
CrossSearch
CrossSearch allows you to search multiple databases simultaneously. The link on this guide preselects several databases: General Onefile, Academic OneFile, ABI/Inform (business), ERIC (education); Social Sciences Full Text, Sociology Abstracts, and PsycInfo.If you would like to search only one particular database, uncheck the other databases at the search screen. Alternatively, if you would like to use the native interface of a database simply click the database name link.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.


Newspaper Articles
Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.


Blogs, Forums, and RSS Feeds

Technorati
The best blog locator. Can search for blogs, blog posts, and news stories. You can also browse blogs by topical focus. Blogs are ranked by authority, or the number of unique blogs linking to them. Technorati also lists "rising" blog posts and news stories, or those that are gaining in attention.

Google Blog Search
The Google interface for searching blog posts. It's pure search; you don't have the browsing features or added functionality of Technorati.

Forums or Message Boards
Best located through keyword searches on Google: forum OR forums topic. As an example: forum OR forums politics.

RSS Feeds
Use Google's customized home page or Google Reader to set up feeds. Feeds can be located by the RSS symbol on various Web pages or blogs. Google's customized home page allows you to add some known feeds by browsing or searching by keyword.


Interlibrary Loan

MelCat: MeLCat is a catalog for over 250 participating Michigan libraries. You can request any item found in the catalog (except for journals, journal articles, and other non-circulating materials) to be sent directly to Olson Library. MeLCat is a great way of getting items Olson Library does not own without having to go through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Usually you will get items faster and the requesting process is easier.


Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 7-10 days and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the link above for further details and to submit a request.

APA Style
APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library's Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours