ACT 431 - Accounting Information Systems
Online Databases, Information Resources, & Services
Prof.
Mike Strahan, Olson Library (227-2463)
Library Services
Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive
chat (227-2294) or (info@nmu.edu)
APA Style
Reference Formats Guide includes examples of how to cite materials
in both paper
and online formats.
Library Catalog contains
records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in
a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia
U., and GCC libraries. (Note: Does not contain articles
which appear in journals--see Searching/Locating Article Records below.)
Library Map
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) — Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library
Before submitting your first ILL request, you must register with the system (one time) using your NMU student ID 14-digit barcode (begins with 21854xxxxxxxxx).
Before submitting request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.
While in an online database (e.g., ABI/INFORM or ComputerDatabase), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in
or Link to full text (ABI-only) popup box.
Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials; request default is 30 days.
General Information
Login to submit ILL requests
Searching/Locating
Article Records & Online Materials Through Databases
NOTES: Students MUST HAVE NMU computer/e-mail ID & password to access
FirstSearch and most other subscription databases when connecting
via another Internet Provider (e.g., school district, up.net, Charter,
etc.). Click here to
retrieve your information.
Searching key words/concepts notes to consider:
Browse Topics to search for subject headings (focus of articles) other than those listed below.
Limiting to Scholarly journals
Limiting search concept to Subject field if too many results retrieved
Phrase searching using quotation marks " "
|
|
|
|
ABI/INFORM Global & Wall Street Journal
Do not forget about the Link to full text or Find It links for articles not available in ABI.
|
Contains records from nearly 2,000 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals. Over 50% online full-text/full-image. Also includes Hoover's Company Records reports.
|
| Recommended search strategies in ABI/INFORM (may use similar for other databases) |
Topic |
Search Strategy |
Field |
CRM
|
"customer relationship management"
|
Subject |
| SCE |
"supply chain execution"
|
Citation and abstract
|
| "supply chain management" |
Subject |
| "supply chain*" and (software or systems) |
Subject |
"supply chain execution"
OR
"supply chain management" or ("supply chain*" and (software or systems))
|
Citation and abstract
Subject
|
| ASP |
"application service providers" |
Subject |
| SRM |
"supplier relationship management"
OR
"vendor supplier relations" |
Citation and abstract
Subject
|
| VMI |
"vendor managed inventory "
OR
vendors and "inventory management" |
Citation and abstract
Subject |
| EAI |
"enterprise application integration" |
Citation and abstract |
|
| |
|
| Computer Database |
Indexes periodical articles covering all aspects of computer technology. Full-text/ full-image articles are available for over 25% of the 625+ periodicals indexed. Also includes product reviews/evaluations.
|
General Business File ASAP
|
Contains
records from over 2,700 Business & Economics scholarly &
professional journals, newspapers, and wire services. Over 58% online full-text/full-image.
|
| Search Social Sciences Journals |
| PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts) |
Psychology & Psychiatry. Indexes over 9,000 scholarly/professional journals, plus numerous books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, and conference papers. Covers material published 1887-present.
|
| SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts) |
Sociology & Social Work. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, conference papers, and web sites. Covers material published 1952-present. |
Google Scholar — Search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, technical reports, and books. Results will include links to online articles through our subscriptions, or to search our library catalog.
e-books: Books24x7 (illustrated computer books)