Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


CIS 250/255 - Systems Development
Professor Poindexter

Business, Computer, and Newspaper
Online Databases, Information Resources, & Services      


Search Journals, Popular Magazines, and Newspapers

General

Academic OneFile
A database of more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals from all fields of study. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.This database also contains the full text (from 2000 on) of The Chronicle of Philanthropy

General OneFile Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

ArticleFirst All subjects table of contents-type of database (no subject headings), but good coverage of government & political science journals.

Access World News Access World News provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.

Computer technology

Computer Database  — Indexes periodical articles covering all aspects of computer technology. Full-text/ full-image articles are available for over 25% of the 625+ periodicals indexed. Also includes product reviews/evaluations.   

Business

ABI/INFORM Global Plus Wall Street Journal  Contains records from nearly 2,000 Business, Economics, & Computer scholarly & professional journals.  Over 50% online full-text/full-image. 

General Business File ASAP Contains records from over 2,700 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals, newspapers, and wire services.  Over 58% online full-text/full-image. 


Search for Books

Library Catalog contains records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries.  (Note:  Does not contain articles which appear in journals--see Searching/Locating Article Records below.)

MeLCat provides access to the holdings of over 250 libraries in Michigan. You may request materials from these libraries.

WorldCat  -- Contains records for books, journal titles, documents, reports, government resources, etc. in a variety of formats (including online) held by libraries worldwide.  Uses FirstSearch interface.

e-books:  EBSCO eBook Collection (general & scholarly)  Books24x7 (illustrated computer books)


Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Please use this service only if the item is not available from MeLCat to acquire materials not held by Olson Library.

Please register with the ILLiad system before submitting your first ILL request.
(Wildcat Express or LDES card required.)

Before submitting any request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., CINAHL), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in popup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials, and at least 2 weeks to receive book/other materials; request default is 30 days.
General Information


Useful Web Sites

These web sites contain useful articles or webinars on fundraising. They may also include links to helpful examples of online fundraising and/or links to resources to other organizations that could give you information about international health issues and/or fundraising.

Association of Fundraising Professionals
Includes information on fundraising in general.

The Online Fundraising Blog
This blog has useful information contained under its Webinars link, and its list of NonProfit Organizations contains many examples.

American Medical Student Association: The Future of International Health
This article contains links to organizations that work in international health.

International Health Resources
A comprehensive list of organizations and resources on international health. Includes government information.

Beth's Blog: How Nonprofits Can Use Social Media
As the title says, this blog focuses on using social media to promote your cause.

ePhilanthropyFoundation.org
The Resources button will take you to a searchable index of full-text articles.


Citing Your Sources

APA Style Reference Formats Guide includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper
and online formats.


More Reference Assistance

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) or (info@nmu.edu)

Library Map

Mollie Freier, instruction librarian for this course, is available by phone (x1061) or e-mail.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours