Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


CIS 250/255 - Systems Development
Professor Poindexter

Business, Computer, Political Science, and Newspaper
Online Databases, Information Resources, & Services      

Instruction provided by Prof. Mike Strahan, Olson Library (227-2463)

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" reference assistance including interactive chat (227-2294) or (info@nmu.edu)

Library Map

APA Style Reference Formats Guide includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper
and online formats.

Library Catalog contains records for books, journal titles, government documents, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries.  (Note:  Does not contain articles which appear in journals--see Searching/Locating Article Records below.)

WorldCat  -- Contains records for books, journal titles, documents, reports, government resources, etc. in a variety of formats (including online) held by libraries worldwide.  Uses FirstSearch interface.

CQ Researcher
A weekly publication covering the critical events and controversial subjects of the day.  Each issue offers an in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic. 


Searching/Locating Article Records & Online Materials Through Databases
NOTES:
Students MUST HAVE NMU computer/e-mail ID & password to access FirstSearch and most other subscription databases when connecting via another Internet Provider (e.g., school district, up.net, Charter, etc.). Click here to retrieve your information.  NMU students may connect directly to the Internet via MERIT at no cost to them. Determine your local MERIT phone number.

Search Business, Economics, & Computer Journals
Political Science Journals & Popular Magazines
and Newspapers

ABI/INFORM Global Plus Wall Street Journal  Contains records from nearly 2,000 Business, Economics, & Computer scholarly & professional journals.  Over 50% online full-text/full-image. 

General Business File ASAP Contains records from over 2,700 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals, newspapers, and wire services.  Over 58% online full-text/full-image. 

Computer Database
 — Indexes periodical articles covering all aspects of computer technology. Full-text/ full-image articles are available for over 25% of the 625+ periodicals indexed. Also includes product reviews/evaluations. 
 


General OneFile Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

ArticleFirst All subjects table of contents-type of database (no subject headings), but good coverage of government & political science journals.


Access World News Access World News provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.

 


e-books:  EBSCO eBook Collection (general & scholarly)  Books24x7 (illustrated computer books)


Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

Please register with the ILLiad system before submitting your first ILL request.
(Wildcat Express or LDES card required.)


Before submitting any request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., CINAHL), submit requests by clicking on Request form link located in popup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials, and at least 2 weeks to receive book/other materials; request default is 30 days.
General Information





Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours