Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


CJ 504 - Graduate Seminar in Criminal Justice

CJ-Related Online Databases, Information Resources, & Services
Bruce Sarjeant, Olson Library (227-1580)

Problems? Questions? Contact the librarian on duty right now, or send us an email, or call.

NMU's Library Catalog contains holdings (books, journal titles, government documents, etc.) of NMU, LSSU, Finlandia U., and GCC libraries. (Note:  Does not contain articles which appear in journals—see Searching/Locating Article Records below.)

Are you a Distance Student? Distance education students are those students registered for credit courses who have all of their classes at off-campus sites AND who are not residents of Marquette or the surrounding areas. Students living within a thirty-five (35) mile radius of Marquette are considered to be within the Marquette area.  Exceptions will be considered for students who are not residents of the Marquette area (as defined previously) AND who are enrolled in classes which meet on campus eight (8) times or fewer per semester. If so, different rules apply to you: please register here first.

WorldCat  — Contains records for books, theses/dissertations, journal titles, government documents,etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by libraries worldwide.
Online Thesis/Dissertation search hint:
Check Internet Resources box and change Any Content to Thesis/Dissertation.

Theses and dissertations  — Several resources that point you in the direction of these.


Searching/Locating Article Records & Online Materials Through Databases
If NMU is not your internet provider (or if you are using the NMUCLC network), you will also need to have the Cisco VPN Client installed and running if you continue to be prompted for username and password when you try and access a database (warning: this will not work with VISTA!!). Mac users, on the other hand, need that version of the Cisco VPN Client. WiMax access does not require the VPN.
Brief video on the VPN client (1:45).

Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.). Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles. Below are specific databases-sometimes narrowing your search in just one database is the best strategy for locating resources.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (NCJRS) — The premier database in this field is available here via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Contains records for scholarly & trade journal articles, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, and conference papers. The free version directly from the Department of Justice, which you might be used to, is available here.
What's the difference between these two versions (4:44)? Worth watching: you may be surprised. The interface has changed, but the concepts remain the same.

PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts) — Specialized database that contains records for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses, dissertations, and conference papers.

SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts) — Specialized database that contains records for scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses, dissertations, and conference papers.

Social Services Abstracts (social work/human services/social welfare) — Specialized database that contains records for scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and book eviews.

Academic OneFile — General database contains records for scholarly & trade journal articles, and popular magazine articles in all subject areas including criminal justice (contains over 50 journals related to criminal justice and hundreds related to law).

Google Scholar — Another general "database". Does not look or act like the others listed here. Use the "full text@nmu" or "locate a print copy@nmu" hotlink for access to publications or for requesting them via ILL.

Homeland Security Digital Library — Although a resource for for homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management, a surprising amount of federal, state, and local resources for law enforcement can be found here.

LegalTrac  — Contains records for scholarly and trade/professional law journals & legal resources.

Access World News. Full-text newspaper database. Contains no images.


Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

First time users? Register now--even if you don't think you'll need to ILL anything, register anyway.

There are a few ways to obtain a publication or article from elsewhere. Wiithin most databases, ILL's are initiated via the FindIt icon feature (this may also appear as text rather than this icon). In the WorldCat database, it's through the logo. Within NMU's catalog, use the MelCat link (a not-very-obvious link at the top of the library catalog).

Please allow 7-10 days to receive material.


Evaluating Internet Resources: yes, you've been surfing for years now, but do you ask yourself these questions when you land on a website?

Internet Search Engines

Google Advanced Search. Over half the searches in the world at any one time are via google. Try their advanced search screen for more power in what you are looking for.

INFOMINE Scholarly Internet Resource Collections

USAGov — Federal, State & local government search engine — use Advanced Search mode. Advanced search — in any database or search engine — is your best friend.

The Catalog of Government Publications is a goldmine of criminal justice and law enforcement publications.


Criminal Justice Statistical Sources

Michigan State Police

The Disaster Center's list of state and local crime statistics.

Federal Bureau of Investigation Reports & Publications.

U. S. Department of Justice Bureau of Justice Statistics. An additional resource within the DOJ is the Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS). Search for publications via their Resource Information Center.

For crime statistics on university campuses, go to the Office of Postsecondary Education Campus Security Statistics Support Index. You can search for a specific campus or compare data from several campuses.


Criminal Justice & Law Web Sites/Guides

Marcus Felson, the author of your textbook, found the following web resources "very useful" for writing his book: Center for Problem-Oriented Policing, the Jill Dando Institute for Crime Science, and Crime Reduction. Each site contains many online publications and resources.

How to Find Information on Law - Olson Library Guide

Michigan Legislature (search for Michigan legal definitions in "MCL Full Text Search")
(note: Michigan Penal Code begins in Section 750)

Michigan Courts - official Michigan government web site

Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law School) - one of the top law meta-sites

FindLaw.com - another of the top law meta-sites.

Criminal justice resources from Michigan State University. Searchable collection of links dealing with all aspects of this subject. Includes databases that NMU might not have access to, though.

Crinimal justice resoruces from LLRX, an online law and technology resource for legal professionals. There is a lot on this site.


Writing Resources

FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin Author Guidelines. You aren't expected to write for this publication, but their guidelines list many worthwhile points to keep in mind while writing.

Researching a Problem. A publication from COPS. One of many available from the Office of Community Oriented Policing Services dealing with a specific problem of community law enforcement.

APA Style Reference Formats Guide includes examples of how to cite materials in both paper and online formats.

Zotero. Manage your references and citations (available only with the Mozilla browser). I have created a few flash videos for you incorporating this program with use in databases.

**These are videos: you can stop the action if things are going too quickly, rewind, and watch it again.


Directory of Professional e-mail Discussion Lists and CJ Blogs

CataList

Criminal Justice Blog list from LLRX (Law & Technology Resources for Legal Professionals).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours