Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU WebCT

 


Criminal Justice Resources & Services available through NMU Olson Library

All Related Databases

NCJRS, SocialSciAbs, PsycInfo

Library Map

Criminal Justice in HV's

Psychology in BF's


Specialized Resources & Other Library Guides

Instructional videos (general) on using library resources. Links to specific instructional videos related to Criminal Justice will be in this guide at the appropriate section in bold and with the icon.

Loss Prevention Library Guide

Professional Development & Assessment (CJ490) Library Guide

Graduate Seminar in CJ (CJ504) Library Guide


Library Services

Online chat and other means of contacting the Reference Desk, or contact me personally: Bruce Sarjeant, (227-1580).

Library Distance Education Services (LDES) — Distance education students are those students registered for credit courses who have all of their classes at off-campus sites AND who are not residents of Marquette or the surrounding areas. Students living within a thirty-five (35) mile radius of Marquette are considered to be within the Marquette area. Exceptions will be considered for students who are not residents of the Marquette area (as defined previously) AND who are enrolled in classes which meet on campus eight (8) times or fewer per semester.

Off campus and using either the NMUCLC network OR a non-NMU Internet Service Provider? You will also need to have the Nortell VPN Client (warning: will not work with VISTA!!) installed if you continue to be prompted for your username and password when you try and access a database. Mac users, on the other hand, need the Cisco VPN Client . WiMax access does not require the VPN.
Brief video on the VPN client (1:34).

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

First time users? Register now--even if you don't think you'll need to ILL anything, register anyway.

There are a few ways to obtain a publication or article from elsewhere. Wiithin most databases, ILL's are initiated via the FindIt icon feature (this may also appear as text rather than this icon). In the WorldCat database, it's through the logo. Within NMU's catalog, use the MelCat link (a not-very-obvious link at the top of the library catalog). Videos regarding how to interlibrary loan items are down the page, placed in their proper context (searching the catalog, searching a database).
Interlibrary loan: article (1:39).
Interlibrary loan: book (3:30).

Please allow 7-10 days to receive material.

If you are a distance student, in Michigan or elsewhere, use the resources available at your local library! While NMU can certainly provide you with resources, it might be quicker to use your local public library as an interlibrary loan resource.

Top of Page


Locating library holdings of journals, government documents, books, theses, etc.

Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings Related to Criminal Justice - Searchable list of library-subscribed online journals with database & publisher links.

Search the Library Catalog by Journal Title/Author/Title/Subject or Keyword to find records for books, journal titles, government documents, theses, etc., in a variety of formats (including online) held by NMU, Lake Superior State University, Finlandia University., and Gogebic Community College libraries (yes, we all share a catalog).

Search across most libraries in Michigan via MelCat. Nation and worldwide, use WorldCat.

Top of Page


Criminal Justice Statistical Sources

Michigan State PoliceState & Local statistics (by county & city/township reporting agency). You might also try looking at specific cities and jurisdictions.

Federal Bureau of Investigation Reports & Publications

U. S. Department of Justice Bureau of Justice Statistics

Crime Statistics from FedStats

List of statistical sources from the University of Michigan. And a USA.gov search for crime statistics michigan (you can, of course, substitute any state name)..

Campus Security Statistics. From the Office of Postsecondary Education, find recent (last year and earlier) crime statistics for NMU as well as other schools in the U.S. using their Campus Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool Website.

1. Internet searching tips for locating statistical resources (5:15).



Searching/Locating Article Records & Online Materials Through Online Databases

NOTES: Researchers MUST HAVE their NMU computer/e-mail ID & password to access most of the databases listed below when connecting via another Internet Provider (e.g., school district, up.net, Charter, etc.). Click here to retrieve your information. 

In order to view and download online PDF articles retrieved through many databases as well as Internet resources, you must have Adobe Reader version 6.0 or later installed. Download from NMU or Adobe.

It's a good idea to disable your popup blocker before searching.

2. Database basics (7:46).

Subject Area

Databases

Criminal Justice & Law

NCJRS Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) The premier database in this field is available here via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA). Contains records for scholarly & trade journal articles, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, and conference papers. The free version directly from the Department of Justice, which you might be used to, is available here. I recommend the CSA version for research, but the free version has a better thesaurus, which is explained in a video below.

3. What's the difference between these two versions? (4:44).
4. Searching basics in NCJRS (9:33).
5. Boolean searching: use it to your advantage (4:21).
6. Subject Searches (2:14) and
7. Thesaurus/Indexes (5:51).

8. Assignment 3 video for Richard Laucks CJ465 (7:25).

Michigan Legislature (search for Michigan legal definitions in "MCL Full Text Search") (note: Michigan Penal Code begins in Section 750)

Michigan Courts official Michigan government web site

LegalTrac — Law. Indexes scholarly/professional law journals & legal resources. Covers material published 1980-present.

LegalPeriodical — Law. Indexes scholarly/professional law journals & legal resources. Covers material published 1981-present.

WestLaw CampusComprehensive full-text law resource. All Federal and state regulations & laws, published court decisions, encyclopedias and digests, etc. Covers material published 1700's-present.

Homeland Security Digital Library — Although a resource for homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management, a surprising amount of federal, state, and local resources for law enforcement can be found here.

See also Legal Resources guide and Criminal Justice Electronic Reference Resources, both from NMU.

Social Sciences, Social Work, & Abuse-related

PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts) — Psychology & Psychiatry. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, and conference papers. Covers material published 1806-present.

PsycARTICLES (Psychology) — Online scholarly articles from 63 Psychology journals published 1894-present.

SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts) — Indexes scholarly/professional journals, books, book chapters, reports/documents, theses & dissertations, conference papers, and web sites. Covers material published 1952-present.

SocialSciAbs - Contains records for scholarly and trade/professional core journal articles in Criminal Justice, Psychology, Sociology, Political Science, Government, etc.

Social Services Abstracts — Social Services & Social Work. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, dissertations, web sites, and book reviews. Covers material published 1980-present.

ERIC  — Education. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, conference papers, theses, and dissertations--many freely available online). Covers material published 1966-present.

EducationAbs  — Indexes professional and some scholarly journals. Covers journals published 1983-present.

Business/Computers
& "White Collar Crime"

ABI/INFORM Global — Contains records from nearly 2,000 Business & Economics scholarly & professional journals.  Over 50% online full-text/full-image. Indexes some nursing, hospital, health management, and medical records journals. Covers articles published 1971-present.

Computer Database — Indexes periodical articles covering all aspects of computer technology and systems. Full-text/full-image articles are available for over 25% of the 625+ periodicals indexed. Also includes product reviews/evaluations. Covers material published 1982-present. Good for articles about computer crime.

Medicine & Health

Health & Wellness Resource Center (+ alternative health) — Medicine, Nursing, and Health literature. Integrated portal offers access to journal and magazine articles, online illustrated encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, drug & herb finder, web sites, and health assessment tools. Covers material published 1980-present.

CINAHL Plus — Nursing and Allied/Public Health materials. Indexes scholarly/professional journals, pamphlets, research instruments, theses & dissertations, etc. Covers material published 1982-present.

MEDLINE — Indexes Medicine, Biomedical, and Nursing scholarly/professional journals. Covers material published 1965-present.

General

Academic OneFile — Journal articles from more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals across all fields of study. Indexing from 1980 to present; full-text from 1989 to present. Brought to you by the State of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org).

Google Scholar — Another general "database". Does not look or act like the others listed here but is a very good resource. Use the "full text@nmu" or "locate a print copy@nmu" hotlink for access full-text or for requesting them via ILL.
9. Brief video on how this resource works (4:20).

Access World News - Full text coverage of over 700 U.S. and over 2100 international newspapers, wire services, and news agencies. Dates of coverage varies; primarily 1990's to present.


Top of Page


Criminal Justice & Law Web Sites/Guides

Cecil Greek's Criminal Justice Links The most extensive and thorough CJ web site

Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law School)
one of the top law meta-sites

Center for Problem Oriented Policing. an excellent resource with many online publications.

FindLaw.com another of the top law meta-sites

Crinimal justice resoruces from LLRX, an online law and technology resource for legal professionals. There is a lot on this site.


Internet Search Engines

Evaluating Internet Resources: yes, you've been surfing for years now, but do you ask yourself these questions when you land on a website? Do you have the guts to use a resource you've found online without checking it out first?

Google Advanced Search

USAGov — Federal & State government search engine — use Advanced Search mode. Similar to Google's U.S. Government search but without the clustering.

Librarian’s Internet Index (crime & CJ)Web sites evaluated by California librarians

Ixquick - One of several metasearch engines, which in this case, provides the top results from 11 search engines/directories (includes Open Directory and Wikipedia). For many additional metasearch engines, click on the link below.

Why limit your online searching to just google (or your favorite)? Pick another search engine from searchenginelist.com and run your search again. You might be surprised at the new resources that come up. Not mentioned on that list is the new search engine from Microsoft, bing.

10. Tips on Internet Searching (10:36).


Directory of Professional e-mail Discussion Lists and CJ blogs.


e-books:  netLibrary (scholarly & general)  Books24x7 (illustrated computer books).

Library Guide maintained by Bruce Sarjeant, Olson Library (227-1580). Found a resource that you'd like to see added? Let me know!

Top of Page

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours