Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


 

EC 345: Environmental & Natural Resource Economics

Dr. Julie Urban

Databases (specific to Earth Sciences)

BioOne. 2000-present. "Searchable and browsable, full-text journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Journals tend to emphasize plant, animal, and ecological research. Not very much biomedical, cellular, or molecular biology literature, especially as it relates to humans."

GEOBASE. 1980-present. " A multidisciplinary database providing citations and abstracts to topics in physical geography, ecology, geography, oceanography, geomechanics, and international development studies."

Toxline. Last 5 years. " Provides information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens."

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide. 1935-present. " Covers all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, parasites, and more. Includes coverage from Central and South America."

General Databases

EconLit. 1969-present. "The premier index to scholarly aspects of economics." Includes dissertaions, working papers, books, and English language scholarly journals. You can limit your search to specific geographic regions of the world.

Academic OneFile. 1980-present. "A database of more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals from all fields of study".

JSTOR. 1878-five years ago. "The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Journals are divided into 47 disciplines including, but not limited to, anthropology, art history, biological sciences, business, botany & ecology, economics, education, history, language & literature, law, music, philosophy, political science, sociology, and zoology."

Google Scholar. "Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research."

GC 475 Course Guide. Environmental Impact Assessment. Finding aid for locating online Environmental Impact Statements from the Federal government.

Library catalog. Search for books--search first using a keyword or try using a subject.

Citation

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association .  Consult the Manual in the library's Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours