ED 306 - Children's Literature
(* means previous
editions are in the circulating collection on the third floor; they
have the same call number minus the 'Ref')
Beyond Picture Books: a guide to first readers
Ref PN 1009 .A1 B278 1995
Cianciolo, Patricia Jean
Picture Books for Children, 2nd ed.
PN 1009 .A1 C565 1981
Dreyer, Sharon Spredemann
Bookfinder:a guide to children's literature about the needs and the problems
of youth aged 2 and up.
Ref PN 1009 .A1 D7
Homa, Linda L.
Elementary school library collection.
Ref PN 1009 .A1 .E53
Lima, Carolyn W.
*A to Zoo: subject access to children's picture books, 6th ed.
Ref PR 990 .L715 2001
National Council of Teachers of English
*Adventuring with Books: a booklist for pre-K - grade 6.
Ref/PN 1009 .A1 A38 1999
*Books for You: a booklist for senior high.
Ref PN 1009 A1 B6
*High Interest Easy Reading for Middle and Senior High School Students.
Ref PN 1009/A1 H53
*Your Reading: a booklist for junior high and middle school students.
Ref PN 1009 A1 Y68
Paulin, Mary Ann
Creative Uses of Childrens' Literature
PN 1009 .A1 P33
More Creative Uses of Childrens' Literature
PN 1009 .A1 P33 1992
Rasinski, Timothy V. and Cindy S. Gillespie
Sensitive Issues: an annotated guide to children's literature K-6.
PN 1009 .AS1 R23 1992
Shapiro, Lillian L. and Barbara L. Stein
Fiction for Youth: a guide to recommended books.
PN 1009 .A1 F44 1992
Sutherland, Zena et. al.
The Best in Children's Books: the University of Chicago guide to children's literature.
PN 1009 .A1 S96 1991
Dictionary of Literary Biography, volumes 22, 42, 52, 61, 141, 160, 161, and 163
Ref PN 451 .D52
Junior Authors and Illustrators, v. 1-7
Ref PN 1009 .A1 S3936
Something About the Author (includes illustrators)
Ref PN 1009 .A1 C5139
Twentieth Century Children's Writers
Ref PN 1009 .A1 T9 1983
Children's Literature Review
Ref PN 1009 .A1 C5139
Writers for Children
Ref PN 1009 .A1 W73
All materials in Olson Library are classified and cataloged in the library's online catalog.
Go to the online catalog at (www.nmu.edu/library)
Click on 'Search the Library Catalog.'
Click on the 'Title/Author/Subject' tab.
Click on the radio button next to 'Library of Congress Subject Headings.'
For materials about children's literature, type one of the following terms in the textbox:
children books and reading
illustrated childrens books
picture books for children
For children's books on a specific topic, use the 'Guided Search' screen.
In the 'search for' textbox, type your subject, e.g. 'dinosaurs.' In the 'search in' textbox, scroll down to 'Subject.'
In the next 'search for' textbox, type in the word 'juvenile.' In the 'search in' textbox, scroll down to 'Subject.'
Look for resources located in the NMU Pre-K to 12 Collection (LRC229)
Now that you have all these call numbers - Where are the materials?
Find children's materials in the PreK-12 Collections area, LRC Room 229:
- trade books for children
- curriculum materials that teachers use with children
Pre-K - 12 materials are classified using the Dewey Decimal System:
Juvenile non-fiction call numbers look like:
508 (for) Thompson, Peggy
T56 (for) Auks, rocks and the odd dinosaur
Juvenile fiction call numbers look like:
Fict. (for) L'Engle, Madeline
L375 (for) A wrinkle in time
Librarians' Index to the Internet (http://lii.org/). Type 'children's literature' in the searchbox. You will
get a list of nearly 100 recommended sites dealing with children's literature.Some are:
Children's Literature Web Guide
A guide to Internet resources related to books for children and teens. Includes links to discussion groups; best books and awards lists;
authors; stories; journals; parent, teacher, storyteller, writer, and illustrator resources; and more. From David K. Brown of the Doucette
Library of Teaching Resources, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
Children's Picture Book Database
This database offers abstracts for thousands of children's picture books (preschool to grade three), suitable for teachers, librarians,
and others who design interdisciplinary curricula for elementary schools and library programs. Major categories include Literature,
Language and Communications, Mathematics, Health and Medicine, Natural History and Natural Science, Social Studies, and Visual and Performing
PIKA: Canadian Children's Literature Database
This searchable PIKA database, named after a small rodent, provides bibliographic information for the over 35,000 titles held in the National
Library's Canadian Children's Literature Service Collection. Records for recent titles have been enriched by the addition of summaries and age levels.
Available in English and French. From the National Library of Canada.
The Horn Book Virtual History Exhibit
In honor of the 75th Anniversary of The Horn Book, the premier magazine of children's literature, the editors have assembled memorabilia,
correspondence, groundbreaking articles, interviews, letters, and more. Highlights include Laura Ingalls Wilder's recipe for gingerbread, an original
Beatrix Potter illustration, and Johanna Hurwitz' membership card to the now defunct "Horn Book League" for budding child
authors. There is also a brief history of the founding of Horn Book. A site for all fans of children's literature to peruse.
Locally, the Superiorland Preview Center (recently renamed the Paulin Preview Center) believes that
"Providing children with quality up-to-date literature is an essential first step in the literacy process. Professionals and parents need access
to the newest books to share with children as well as need to have the skills to evaluate these books. The Superiorland Library Preview Center
will provide children's books, workshops on how to evaluate and review them, and distribute those reviews via the World Wide Web so they can
be shared as selection tools by others." CLM - 2/04