Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


ED 319/349 - The Teaching of Reading in
Secondary Schools/Teaching for Diverstiy, Equity and Social Justice in the Secondary School Community

RESOURCES

Finding Information:

Use ERIC to find information on topics such as multiple intelligences, cooperative learning, inquiry or questioning techniques, brain, and cognitive style (the term ERIC uses for learning style).

For efficient searching in ERIC, enter one of these terms in the 'search for' textbox, and then scroll to 'Major Descriptor.'

Check the 'Limit to Full Text' box to retrieve only those items available in full text. Click 'Search'

If that search does not yield enough information, un-check the 'full text' box, and check the box next to 'Subscriptions held by my Library.' You would have to plan a trip to the Library to retrieve these articles.


Creating Lesson Plans:

When you are ready to apply these concepts to creating lesson plans, begin as above BUT change the scroll box to 'Descriptor Phrase.' Then, in the second 'search for' textbox, put the term 'lesson plans' and scroll to 'Descriptor Phrase'.

In ERIC, you can also designate a curriculum subject area and grade level when searching for lesson plans.


Curriculum Materials and Lesson Plans on the World Wide Web:

Blue Web'n
An archive of over 1,000 "learning sites" on the World Wide Web. Contents are searchable by subject, grade level, keyword, and type (e.g., tools, activities, projects). All sites are annotated and evaluated. A "Weekly Update" of new sites is available by e-mail.

Curricular Resources
Developed by the Yale - New Haven Teachers Institute, this site provides access to curriculum units created by Institute Fellows from 1978 - present. Unit plans for virtually any subject are available, and may be found using the site's well-designed subject index.

EdSitement
A joint project of the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Council of Great City Schools, and others, this site is "a constantly growing collection of the most valuable online resources for teaching English, history, art history, and foreign languages." Includes lesson plans.

Educational Resources & Lesson Plans
Developed by Edmund Sass for use by his students in the education program at College of Saint Benedict/ St. John's University (Minnesota), this extensive list of resources is organized by subject area and by user group need (e.g., resources for students, resources for teachers, etc.). Over 1,000 links are provided, many with brief annotations describing the site contents.

The Educator's Reference Desk drawn from the ERIC database, it includes resource guides, lesson plans and a question archive.

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
Links to educational materials, Web sites, and digital collections housed on federal government Web sites. Organized by subject and searchable. Can be used in conjunction with GEM (below).

IDEAS
Developed by the TEACH Wisconsin Collaboration Committee, IDEAS provides a searchable database of peer-reviewed lesson plans and instructional materials by content area and grade level, and keyed to the Wisconsin Model Academic Standards.

Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators is a categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. It is updated often to include the best sites for teaching and learning.

Learn NC - Lesson Plans
Part of the North Carolina Teacher's Network, this is a searchable database of lesson plans developed by NC teachers. Organized by subject and grade level.

MeL (Michigan Electronic Library) - Education - Lesson Plan Collections a number of sites that may contain particular emphasis on Michigan-related subjects and curriculum requirements.

Read, Write, Think
Sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English, this site promises "access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts education." Includes links to standards and recommended Web sites, as well as to lesson plans.

Many, many more sources for lesson plans exist, and can be found by typing your criteria into Google.


Further Assistance

If you need help with any of these resources, ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294), use the live chat, or contact SaraJane Tompkins, Reference Librarian.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours