Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


ED 541A: Improvement of Instruction

Library Resource Guide

Access Issues

NMU Network Account: ID & Password
Students need their network ID & Password for accessing most of the library databases when conncecting via an outside Internet provider (Charter, up.net, school district, etc.) or when using a local dial-up connection. If you have not obtained your ID/password, visit the New User Page. Alternatively, you can stop in at the Academic Computing HelpDesk, LRC 116. See the HelpDesk web site for posted hours.

Library Distance Education Services (Registration required)
Olson Library provides services to support distance education courses, including the mailing of books and periodical articles directly to students. To be eligible, students must live outside of a 35-mile radius of Marquette AND have all of their classes at off-campus sites or enrolled in classes which meet on campus eight (8) times or fewer per semester.

Library Barcode
To check out books or to place Interlibrary Loan requests, students need their Wildcat Express Card and the barcode found on the back of this ID. You can obtain your ID from the Wildcat Express Center, located in the University Center, from 7:30a.m. - 4:30p.m., Monday through Friday. You must also activate your card by stopping at the circulation desk of the library or by calling (906) 227-2260. If you are a distance education student (see above for eligibility) and do not own a Wildcat Express Card a barcode will be assigned and sent to you via email.

Toll-free Internet Access
The University provides toll-free, dial-up Internet access from anywhere within Michigan (through Merit). To find the local number in your area code or to learn how to set up a dial-up connection, see the Dial NMU through Merit page.


Sources for Locating Journal Articles

ERIC
The premier index covering journal articles and non-journal materials (ERIC documents) in the field of education. Most ERIC documents since 1993 are available full text. If you would like to limit your search to journal articles only, select "Journal (CIJE)" from the Limit to: Document Type drop-down menu. Coverage goes back to 1966.

WilsonSelectPlus
Though this database covers all field of study, not just limited to the field of education, all articles are available in full text. There are a limited number of journal titles in this database that are not covered by ERIC or EducationAbs. Coverage goes back to 1995.

PsycINFO
This is the premier index to literature in the field of psychology. Coverage goes back to 1887.

Tracking down articles
When searching any of the above databases, click on the icon (usually located in the complete or full record details). A new window will pop-up that indicates if we have the article available electronically. If it is not available electronically, click on the link to search the library catalog to determine if we have a paper copy of the article in the library. If the library does not have access to the article in any format, a link is also provided that allows you to submit a request for a photocopy of the article (interlibrary loan).


Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.


Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 1-3 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the link above for further details and to submit a request.


APA Style
APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common types of sources, including web sites and online journal articles, according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library's Reference Collection (BF 76.7 P83) for further information or types of sources not listed here.


Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of the above sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

Or contact me directly: Mike Burgmeier, Reference Librarian. 227-2187.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours