Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


ELIS: Embedded Library Instruction Services
ED 500 & other ED grad courses

rev. 7/6/2017 by mfs

Students: First step is to Bookmark/Favorite this page.

NEED HELP?

Please click here to contact Professor Mike Strahan for assistance.

Living off-campus? If so, NMU graduate students in Education automatically
prequalify for Distance Library Services (DLS).


Please CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR DLS

 

OneSearch has become an often-used database for searching Education literature.
To limit to peer-reviewed: after you see search results, click on peer-reviewed (link on left side of
results screen).

 

 

How to use OneSearch (flash video) (requires Flash player)

DATABASES - search for articles, reports, books, theses, dissertations, & legal materials

Google Scholar (Please use this NMU Partnership link)

Google Scholar has become an often-used database for searching
the Education literature. Most journal articles are peer-reviewed. Also includes
books, reports, and other resources across many subjects. Provides
a "cited by" feature to indicate other works which cite a source as a reference.

ERIC

Remains the primary database because of the online thesaurus of subject terms.Indexes scholarly/professional journals, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, etc.). Covers material published 1966 to present.
To limit results to peer-reviewed, click on Peer reviewed box below search boxes.

Both Google Scholar & ERIC work well with Zotero.

Important: You must use the links above to access Google Scholar & ERIC! Otherwise, you will not be able to access NMU Library's thousands of online journals.

PsycINFO (great for counseling, learning & reading disorders) - Journals, books, and other resources covering psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines Education. 1805 to present.
To limit results to peer-reviewed, click on Peer reviewed box below search boxes.

Sociological Abstracts - Journal articles, books, and other resources on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Subjects include demography, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, social psychology, human biology, women's studies, health, medicine, law, etc. 1952 to present; abstracts since 1974.
To limit results to peer-reviewed, click on Peer reviewed box below search boxes.

 

APA Reference Style Tools (6th ed. 2010)

NMU Library APA examples (with notes)

(Newer interface works great on cell phones & tablets--no app required).

APA Tips Checklist

Captioning & citing of tables & figures


School Law & Legal Resources

WestLaw (Federal & State statutes, regulations, court decisions, & law journals online full-text)

Legal Resources Library Guide

MI & WI Tribes, Treaties and Current Issues Library Guide (NAS 212)

 

Need materials not available online? [ NMU Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Policies ]
Click here to request articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
DLS students must indicate "Distance Education" in ILL form Notes.

Click here to search & request books & videos (not articles) through MeLCat
(Michigan residents only)
Michigan DLS students--use your hometown public library card, (not DLS card).
Marquette-area students--use your NMU picture ID or hometown public library card.

Click here to request materials not available in MeLCat
DLS students must indicate "Distance Education" in ILL form Notes.

Miscellaneous

Zotero (research manager) Ask your embedded librarian

Library Maps (for students who wish to visit library)

School Violence-related Resources

ED 505 - Measurement & Evaluation Resources

Locate Online Theses & Dissertations (many accessible for free)

 
 
 




Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours