EN 090 - Basic Composition
Library Resource Guide
Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns. Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.
For career information, search under the term vocational guidance and your profession/career (e.g. social work vocational guidance or nursing vocational guidance).
Key Sources
The following sources contain brief information on a wide variety of careers/occupations.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Ref. HF 5381 .E52
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Ref. HD 8051 .A62 (also available online)
Specialty Occupational Outlook, Trade & Technical - Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 S594
Specialty Occupational Outlook, Professions - Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 S595
State Occupational Outlook Handbook - Ref. HD 5723 .S85
Jobs Rated Almanac - Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 K72 2002
CrossSearch
This link will search multiple resources for articles on current events, a wide range of popular topics. The resources searched include CQ Researcher, General OneFile, and Wilson Select Plus.
Access World News
Access World News provides full text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all newspapers or titles from a particular state, country, or continent. While coverage varies from title to title and typically goes back only to the late 1990's, some titles extend back to the mid 1970's
MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
For further assistance, stop by the Reference Desk, call (227-2294), or use the live chat. |