Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 090 - Career Resources
Jennifer Robinette

Library Guide

Books & Other Library Materials

To search above for career information in either OneSearch (articles) or the Library Catalog (books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns)

enter the phrase "vocational guidance" and your profession/career

For example:
geography "vocational guidance"
nursing "vocational guidance"

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.
Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.

 


Key Sources

The following sources contain brief information on a wide variety of careers/occupations.

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
- Ref. HF 5381 .E52 (also available online)
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Ref. HD 8051 .A62 (also available online)
Career Outlook - Per. HF 5382.5 .U5 O3 (also available online)
O*NET Formerly the Dictionary of Occupational Titles, this online resource is touted as the nation's primary resource of occupation information.


Credible/Authoritative Career Web Resources


America's Career InfoNet ** Excellent listing of related careers & state-specific comprehensive Information **

Employment Online Resources. A large list of websites covering specific fields, job descriptions, job listings, and resume & salary information.

LearningExpressLibrary.
This resource lets you take tests, courses, and exercises related to many careers.

Michigan-specific Resources

New and Emerging Occupations, a resource from Michigan Jobs & Career Portal.
Michigan Helping Hand website. More than career resources here. "This site helps Michigan citizens facing economic hardship find the services they need. Simply click on one of the five tabs below for links to information about jobs and training, unemployment benefits, health care, family support and housing. Then click on the particular links that describes the help you're seeking."


Newspapers

When using subject/discipline-specific databases below, search by combining your profession/career with the following terms (recommend you copy & paste into a separate search box):

         Profession or Career* or Occupation* or Vocation*

Access World News
Access World News provides full text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all newspapers or titles from a particular state, country, or continent. While coverage varies from title to title and typically goes back only to the late 1990's, some titles extend back to the mid 1970's.


Journal and Magazine Articles - All subjects

The terminology for locating career information varies from database to database.
Use the database Subject Guide and search for the subheading/subdivision: Vocational Guidance
However, also consider searching by combining your profession/career with the following terms (recommend you copy & paste into a separate search box):

         Profession or Career* or Occupation* or Vocation*

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Academic OneFile
Index to articles in over 10,000 scholarly journals and some general periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 journal titles. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Journal and Magazine Articles - Discipline specific

The terminology for locating career information varies from database to database. When using subject/discipline-specific databases below, search by combining your profession/career with the following terms (recommend you copy & paste into a separate search box):

         Profession or Career* or Occupation* or Vocation*

ABI/INFORM Global — Index to articles in business and economics journals.  Indexes some nursing, hospital, health management, and medical records journals. Also includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.

ERIC
An abstract database to scholarly & trade journal articles in the field of education. Also includes references/full text to ERIC Documents (reports/documents, lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).

Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books.


Plagiarism and Style Guides (citing your sources)
Plagiarism is using someone else's ideas or words & claiming them as your own without properly citing or attributing to the source. As the wealth of information in a variety of formats become easier to access on the Internet, it is increasingly important to properly cite where you find information. For further information, consult the NMU Writing Center handout on plagiarism, and the NMU Student Handbook policies on Academic Dishonesty under Student Rights & Responsibilities section 1.2.3,
& Student Code section 2.2.3.

MLA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53


Library Assistance

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" assistance including interactive chat, phone (227-2294) or email (info@nmu.edu).


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours