Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 090 Basic Composition
Ms. Linda Sirois

Updated 9/03/2012

 

Books & Other Library Materials

To search above for career information in either OneSearch (articles) or the Library Catalog (books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns)

enter the phrase "vocational guidance" and your profession/career

For example:
geography "vocational guidance"
nursing "vocational guidance"

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.
Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.


Key Career Sources
Click here for APA & MLA Style reference format examples of these works

The following sources contain brief information on a wide variety of careers/occupations.

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
- Print copies in reference: Ref. HF 5381 .E52

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Source for occupational information including training & education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, working conditions. Print version in Reference. HD 8051 .A62.

Occupational Outlook Quarterly - Published Quarterly by the U. S. Dept of Labor, Bureau of Labor and Statistics. Print copies in periodicals: HF 5382.5 .U5 O3. Indexed in several databases available at NMU.


Credible/Authoritative Career Web Resources
Click here for APA & MLA Style reference format examples of these works


America's Career InfoNet ** Excellent listing of related careers & state-specific comprehensive Information **

Employment Online Resources. A large list of websites covering specific fields, job descriptions, job listings, and resume & salary information.

LearningExpressLibrary.
This resource lets you take tests, courses, and exercises related to many careers.

Michigan-specific Resources

Michigan Occupational Reports for Exploration
New and Emerging Occupations, a resource from Michigan Jobs & Career Portal.
Michigan Helping Hand website. More than career resources here. "This site helps Michigan citizens facing economic hardship find the services they need. Simply click on one of the five tabs below for links to information about jobs and training, unemployment benefits, health care, family support and housing. Then click on the particular links that describes the help you're seeking."


Plagiarism and Style Guides (citing your sources)
Plagiarism is using someone else's ideas or words & claiming them as your own. You must properly cite or attribute a source when you are using someone else's ideas. As the wealth of information in a variety of formats become easier to access on the Internet, it is increasingly important to properly cite where you find information. For further information, consult the NMU Writing Center handout on plagiarism, and the NMU Student Handbook policies on Academic Dishonesty under Student Rights & Responsibilities section 1.2.3, & Student Code section 2.2.3.

APA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site. Reference Collection: Ref. BF 76.7 P83

MLA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53


Specialized/Focused Resources

CQ Researcher
In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service, an arm of the Library of Congress, serves the legislative process by providing Congress with non-partisan and in-depth legislative research and analysis on a variety of topics. CRS produces or updates more than 3,000 studies and other publications each year.

Congressional Digest Debates Online
The source formerly known as Pro & Con Online consists of three separate publications--Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates--that explore issues debated in society, on the Supreme Court, and internationally. Library's subscription limited to 15 simultaneous users.

E-Reference Shelf - Includes general & subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. such as Britannica Online and Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History.


Library Assistance

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" assistance including interactive chat, phone (227-2294) or email (info@nmu.edu).



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours