Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU WebCT

 


EN 101 - Learning Skills Development
Professor Carol Anderson

Library Resource Guide

Books & Other Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles. 

For career information, search under the term vocational guidance and your profession/career (e.g. social work vocational guidance or nursing vocational guidance).

Key Sources
The following sources contain brief information on a wide variety of careers/occupations.

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Ref. HF 5381 .E52
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Ref. HD 8051 .A62 (also available online)
Specialty Occupational Outlook, Trade & Technical - Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 S594
Specialty Occupational Outlook, Professions - Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 S595
State Occupational Outlook Handbook - Ref. HD 5723 .S85
Jobs Rated Almanac - Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 K72 2002


Journal and Magazine Articles

The terminology for locating career information varies from database to database. Combine your profession/career with any of the following terms:

         Career or careers or employment

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

WilsonSelectPlus
More than 600,000 full-text, full-image articles from over 1,600 professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines covering a broad range of subjects and disciplines.  Coverage begins in 1994.


Newspapers

Access World News
Access World News provides full text articles from over 1,000 news sources. Be sure to search for terms in the Headline rather than All Text. While coverage varies from title to title and typically goes back only to the late 1990's, some titles extend back to the mid 1970's


MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

How to Reference the online version of Occupational Outlook Handbook
Note: the publication date appears on the bottom of the HTML page, but not the PDF, and is the same for all entries in the 2008-09 OOH:

"Respiratory Therapists." Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2008-09 Edition. 14 April 2007.

United States. Dept. of Labor. Bureau of Labor Statistics. 05 November 2008

< http://stats.bls.gov/oco/pdf/ocos084.htm >.


For further assistance, stop by the Reference Desk, call (227-2294), or use the live chat.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours