N EN 101: Learning Skills Development : Olson Library
Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU WebCT

 

EN 101: Learning Skills Development
Bonnie Betzinger
Library Resource Guide
Instruction provided by Mollie Freier & Mike Strahan
Updated 10/13/09


Finding Library Materials
Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.

Upper Peninsula History Sections:
F
572
.N8

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  See Journal and Magazine Articles below for locating articles.

MeLCat - The Michigan eLibrary Catalog is a catalog of the books, audios, and videos from approximately 250 Michigan libraries that you can request for pick-up at Olson Library. Use MeLCat to quickly request items not owned by NMU. An additional resource for books elsewhere is WorldCat.

Interlibrary Loan
allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraies.  The average time to receive requested materials is 10-14 days and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53

APA Style Guide with New 7/07 Electronic Formats
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to APA style.


General Databases with Journal & Magazine Articles

CrossSearch (customized for this course: Academic OneFile, America: History & Life, Britannica Online, CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, General OneFile, Readers Guide Retro, and Wilson Select Plus)

JSTOR
Historical full-image archival holdings of many journals.

ReadersGuideRetro
Index to popular magazine articles published 1890 - 1982.
Click on the button to locate a copy of the article.

ReadersGuideAbs 
Index to popular magazine articles published 1983 - present. Click on the button to locate a copy of the article.

WilsonSelectPlus
More than one million full-text, full-image articles from over 2000 professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines covering a broad range of subjects and disciplines.  Coverage begins in 1994.

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 11,500 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Full text articles published 1983-present; coverage varies widely from title to title, but includes Michigan History Magazine from 1998-present.

American History & Life
Search this index to find additional articles from the Michigan History Magazine (call number
F 561 .M57; kept in both the periodicals collection and the Michigan Documents collection) and other history journals. Click on the button to locate a copy of the article.


Internet Resources

The Making of Modern Michigan: Upper Peninsula Regional Digitization Center
The Making of Modern Michigan: Digitizing Michigan’s Hidden Past
Michigan Libraries and organizations are contributing to this site in an effort to digitize print and visual material. Materials dating from 1880’s forward can be found on this site. Search the collection by keyword or subject. Also includes county histories and digital oral histories.

Upper Peninsula Region of Library Cooperation Library Catalog - includes holdings of Marquette Public Library, & other U.P. Libraries (use interlibrary loan to request materials from libraries outside of the City of Marquette).

Marquette County Historical Museum J.M. Longyear Research Library

Central U.P. & NMU Archives Suggestion: Collections

List of Michigan Historical Societies/Organizations

Local & Regional links from the NMU Government Documents website.

Online full-text/full-image book digitization projects (full or partial access)

Heritage Quest Online Click on Search Books link to access thousands of online
full-text/image resources including family histories & local history books.

Internet Archive - Text Archive - List of online text collections

Google Book Search (advanced mode) - Search full-text of books; Google account required to view selected text.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress) Searchable database of primary & secondary material including photographs.

USASearchSearch Federal & state government web sites.

Google Scholar (Advanced Search) - Search for academic/scholarly literature, not junk.

Google (Advanced Search) More control over search results.


Newspapers & Other Media
Access World News ( Search 'Regional' or 'Michigan' Newspapers for local & regional newspapers)
Access World News provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.

New York Times accesses (including free access to full-image PDF of articles published 1851-1922)

The Mining Journal (Mqt)

To find old Upper Peninsula newspapers (which are not indexed) on microfilm located in Archives, use the following format & perform a Guided search:

name of city newspapers

WLUC TV6 (Negaunee/Marquette)

WJMN/WFRV TV (Escanaba & Green Bay)

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours