Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 102 - Personal Reading Improvement
Professor Carol Anderson

Library Resource Guide

Books & Other Library Materials


OneSearch is your one-stop shop finding information for your class assignments: newspaper, magazine, and journal articles, the library catalog’s materials–books, government documents, videos, etc.—are included as well. Take advantage of your post-search limiting.

Click on the Catalog tab above to search only the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog. Resources found here will need to be interlibrary loaned.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.


Specific Databases for Journal and Magazine Articles, Biographies

General OneFile
Journal, magazine, and news articles from over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Indexing 1980 to present; full-text 1983 to present. Brought to you by the State of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org)

Biography Reference Bank - Books and journal articles covering interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews,and more of notable individuals from antiquity to the present. 1984 to present.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index References to over 3 million biographical sketches from reference sources on individuals living and deceased. Sources include biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, volumes of literary criticism, and other reference sources. Brought to you by the State of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org).

CQ Researcher In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Internet Resources

Evaluating Internet Sources: what does that resource you've found look like when you look it over critically?

Britannica Online - Premier encyclopedia for college students. Also includes audio & video clips.

Oxford Reference Online - NMU has access to this online reference database. Over 172 publications available from the arts to the sciences.

Electronic Reference Sources - Subject guide from NMU listing online resources from Anthropology to Statistics.


Newspapers

Access World News
Access World News provides full text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all newspapers or titles from a particular state, country, or continent. While coverage varies from title to title and typically goes back only to the late 1990's, some titles extend back to the mid 1970's.


MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.


For further assistance, stop by the Reference Desk, call (227-2294), or use the live chat.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours