EN 110: Good Books
Library Resource Guide
Professor Sandra Burr
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.
The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.). See Journal and Magazine Articles below for locating articles.
eBooks (EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 19,500 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook. You can view the book for 15 minutes (no account needed) or checkout the book for 6 hours (requires creating a free account).
A weekly publication covering the critical events and controversial subjects of the day. Each issue offers an in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic. A good source for selecting a topic since you can browse issues by topic. Also available in-print from 1991-2003 in the bound Periodicals Collection (call number: H 35 .E352).
Journal and Magazine Articles
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services. Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.
MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature. Use the button to determine if the library owns a particular book or journal article.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. Also included is a literary-historical timeline with over 6,700 events to help place literature in its historical and social context, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring more than 10,000 descriptive entries on literary figures, works, and terms.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53
We also have a web page that gives examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of this book . Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Need Further Assistance?
Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources. You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.