Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU WebCT

 


EN 111: College Composition I
Brenda Bancroft

Library Resource Guide

Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns. Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.

Library Map

Electronic Reference Sources available at NMU.

 


Journal and Magazine Articles - General/All Subjects

Academic OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers. Wide ranging database: covers a litte of everything.

Google Scholar
Journal articles, books, and other resources across many subjects. Provides a "cited by" feature to indicate other papers containing a source paper as a reference.

Science.gov
Offers searches for over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, and serves as a gateway to over 1,800 scientific Web sites.

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Journal articles in the areas of science, engineering, and technology. Subjects include chemistry, computer technology, data processing, energy, engineering, mathematics, and physics. 1983 to present; abstracts since 1994.

JSTOR
Search full-text across 47 disciplines.


Journal Articles - Links to Subject-specific Databases

Biology — 12 Databases.

Chemistry — 6 databases.

Computer Science — 6 databases.

Engineering Technology — 5 databases. 

Mathematics — 5 Databases.

Physics — 5 Databases.


Newspapers

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.


Internet Resources

Evaluating Internet Sources Criteria. Yes, you've been surfing for years now. But do you ask yourself these questions when you "found a cool resource online"?

Science, Engineering & Technology resources from Intute. "Created by bringing together three of the Hubs of the Resource Discovery Network (RDN): EEVL (Engineering, Mathematics and Computing), GEsource (Geography and Environment), and PSIgate (Physical Sciences)." Maintained by a team of experts at based at the University of Manchester and Heriot-Watt University.

Library of Congress Science Reference Service. Of note here is their Bibliographies & Research Guides section.

Internet Directories: Open Directory Project: Science Resources, Infomine, Internet Public Library. And a list of directories from Georgetown University.


Need Further Assistance?

If you need help with any of these resources you can ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294 or live chat) or contact Bruce Sarjeant at 227-1580.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours