Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 111- Composition I
Ms. Bonnie Betzinger

Guide Developed & Instruction provide by Prof. Mike Strahan, Olson Library

Search paper Indexes & Databases

MLA
, General OneFile,
JSTOR,
CWI,
&
ReadersGuideRetro

Browse Periodicals & Newspapers published during the time

Google
Scholar

Google translator

 

Search the Library's online catalog for information About a topic or author

1. Click the “Title/Author/Subject” tab.

2. In the ‘Search for:' textbox, type your topic or the name of the author:

medicine united states history
mental illness
depression
neurasthenia

middle class
middle class women
women social
northeastern states social conditions

gilman charlotte


3. Click the “Library of Congress Subject Headings” button

4. Click ‘Search'

5. Browse through the list of subject headings related to your search; click on any that look appropriate.

6. Click on titles that appeal to you – be sure they are located here at Northern. Write down the call numbers, and find the books on the third floor.



Browse Periodicals & Newspapers of the Time (note special articles at end of year)
Paper/Microform Holdings
Title
Years Held

Call number
(all PER unless specified)

Atlantic (Monthly) 1857-present AP 2 .A8
Harper's (New Monthly) Magazine

1850-1913


1913-present

AP 2 .H3
onsite storage

AP 2 .H3

 
New York Times (newspaper) 1857-present AN 2 .N45 microfilm
The Times (London)
(also subtitled Daily Universal Register )
1790-1996  

Search Periodicals & Newspapers
Paper-based Index
Comparable Online Databases
Title
Years Held

Call number
(all Ref Index
& Abs)

Database Name
Years Held

International Index


Social Sciences & Humanities Index

Humanities Index

1907-1965


1965-1974


1974-1991

AI 3 .I58

CWI (Contemporary Women's Issues)

1992-present

MLA Bibliography 1921-1962 P 1 .M65 MLA  1963-present

Poole's

Reader's Guide

1802-1899

1900-1984

AI 3 .P71

AI 3 .R48

ReadersGuideRetro

1890-1982

1983-present

General OneFile (when researching character names, search by text word)
1980-present
(Reminder: New York Times newspaper available on microfilm)

New York Times Index, 1851-1995

The Times (London) Index
(also subtitled Palmer's Index; Annual Index
1790-1996 AI 21 .T46    
JSTOR (full-image periodicals) 1700's - present
American Memory Project (Library of Congress) (note "Women's History" collection)


Locating library holdings of journals, government documents, books, theses, etc.

Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings - Searchable list of library-subscribed online journals with database & publisher links. Search on exact beginning of journal title, words contained in journal title, or by subject area. NOTE: When searching for journal titles, use this resource before searching the library catalog.

Search the Library Catalog by Journal Title/Author/Title/Subject

Back to Directory


Critical Analyses of authors & works

Twentieth-century short story explication : interpretations, 1900-1975, of short fiction since 1800
Ref PN 3373 .W33

Twentieth-century short story explication. New series : with checklists of books and journals used
Ref PN 3373 .W35

Gale Literary Index -- Search by author or work in all Gale biography-related resources. Titles held by Olson Library include:

About Authors Criticisms of individual works
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Ref PN 451.D52
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Ref PN 771 .C59
Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook
Ref PN 451.D526
Critical Survey of Short Fiction
Ref PN 3321 .C7

Contemporary Authors
Ref PN 771 .C65

Critical Temper, and Supplement
Ref PR 83 .C764

Contemporary Authors New Revision Series Ref PN 771 .C655

Library of Literary Criticism
Ref PR 83 .M73

Something About the Author
Ref PN 451 .S6

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Ref PN 94 .G35


Back to Directory

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours