Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 111: College Composition I
Rachel DeRosie

Finding Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.

Upper Peninsula History Sections:
F
572
.N8

To find old Upper Peninsula newspapers on microfilm (located in Archives), use the following format & perform a Guided search:

name of city newspapers

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  See Journal and Magazine Articles below for locating articles.


Books About Names: See CS section in Reference plus:

The New Century cyclopedia of names Ref PE 1625 .C43 1954


Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 10-14 days and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.

APA Style Guide - New 6th edition 2010 Formats
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to APA style.

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.

Examples of how to caption tables and figures from another source.

Biographical & Genealogical Resources
Click on the Click on the button to locate a copy of an article.

Source  

Description/Notes
Dates Covered


Genealogy software (free)
Personal Ancestral File (PAF)
PAF Companion (reports)

Free software provided by the The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  
World Names Profiler
(FPM = Frequency per Million of nam)
Popularity of surnames (last names) around the world. Provides maps of name concentration.

n/a

Social Security Index via RootsWeb/Ancestry.com

RootsWeb Guide to the Social Security Death Index (SSDI)

Fully searchable for deaths. Results may be sorted. INDEX ONLY -- records are not available online.
Does not include the names of everyone, even if they had a Social Security number (SNN).
If relatives or the funeral home did not report the death to the Social Security Administration, or if the individual died before 1962 (when the records were computerized) then they probably will not appear in this database. The omission of an individual in this index does not indicate the person is still living. It simply means that there was no report of the person's death to Social Security Administration.

1962 - present
Obituary Daily Times (index only) The Obituary Daily Times is a daily index of published obituaries throughout the world. Searchable by married or maiden name. Entries include name, age, city where died, name and date of newspaper.
Note: Information contributed by volunteers, so coverage dates vary by newspaper.

Approximately
1999 - present
Obituaries on the web - Canada only Provides links to major funeral home web sites, and newspapers arranged by province.

 
Ellis Island Records Searchable Port of New York passenger records. Provides residence, year arrived, age upon arrival, passenger record, ship manifest, & ship image. Viewing records requires registration.

1892 - 1924

Family Search

New Beta Family Search
(Free Registration for greater access)

Massive, searchable site of genealogical records worldwide. Maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

New Beta site now offering some record images

Varies
Heritage Quest Online Includes searchable full-image of U.S. Census Population Schedules (name, address, nationality, etc.).
Thousands of online full-text/image resources including local history books (click on Search Books).

Census 1790-1930; other works published various years


RootsWeb

popular searchable genealogy site  

Cyndi's List


THE web resource for genealogy  
     
Biography & Genealogy Master Index

Indexes 1,000's of biographical books, directories, Who's Who, etc. works published
1900 - present
Historical Maps American Memory Project - Library of Congress 1500 - present
Google Maps    
American Memory Project (advanced search)

SEARCHING SUBJECTS/TOPICS (RESEARCH & ARGUMENTATIVE PAPERS)

CQ Researcher In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

1991 - present
CQ Weekly Weekly coverage of issues in the U.S. Congress and Washington. 1983 - present

Newspaper Databases

Access World News

The Mining Journal (Mqt)

Wall Street Journal

 

Full text coverage of over 600 U.S. and 500 international newspapers, wire services, and news agencies.

 

 

1990's - present

 

current

1982 - present

Databases indexing very old articles

New York Times

ReadersGuideRetro

JSTOR

 

 

Index & full image of newspaper articles

 

Indexes popular magazines

Index & full image of journal articles

 

1851 - 1980
(1851-1922 free PDFs)



1890 - 1982

1700's - 5 years ago


General Databases which index Journal & Magazine Articles

American History & Life
Search this index to find articles from all American History journals & magazines.

Google Scholar (Advanced Search) - Search for academic/scholarly literature, not junk.


Online full-text/full-image book digitization projects (full or partial access)

Heritage Quest Online Click on Search Books link to access thousands of online full-text/image resources including family histories & local history books.

Internet Archive - Text Archive - List of online text collections

Google Book Search (advanced mode) - Search full-text of books; Google account required to view selected text.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress) - Searchable database of primary & secondary material including photographs.

Google (Advanced Search) - More control over search results.


Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours