EN 111: College Composition I
Ms. Kate Aho
Library Resource Guide
The terminology for locating career information varies from database to database.
Use any or a combination of the following terms along with your profession or career.
Profession or Career* or Employment or Occupation
General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.
CQ
Researcher
A weekly publication
covering the critical events and controversial subjects of the day.
Each issue offers an in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic.
A good source for selecting a topic since you can browse the issues
by topic.
Additional databases for locating magazine and journal articles can be found at CrossSearch.
Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).
When searching for career information in the Library Catalog search under the term vocational guidance and your profession or career
Example:
vocational guidance nursing
The following sources contain brief information on a wide variety of careers/occupations.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Ref. HF 5381 .E52
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Ref. HD 8051 .A62 (also available online)
Evaluating Internet Sources
Important criteria to use when determining the quality of information found on the internet.
MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53
How to Reference the online version of Occupational Outlook Handbook
Note: the publication date appears on the bottom of the HTML page, but not the PDF, and is the same for all entries in the 2008-09 OOH:
"Respiratory Therapists." Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2008-09 Edition. 18 December 2007.
United States. Dept. of Labor. Bureau of Labor Statistics. 21 February 2008
< http://stats.bls.gov/oco/pdf/ocos084.pdf >.
Need Further Assistance?
If you need help with any of these resources you can ask for assistance at the Library's Reference Desk (227-2294 or live chat) |