EN 111: College Composition I
Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.
To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.
The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.). Instead, use the OneSearch box below to search for articles.
Do not forget to put author's name and book title within quotation marks " "
Example: "love medicine" "Louise Erdrich"
If searching only for works about author, type only name within quotation marks.
Example: "Louise Erdrich"
Literature Resource Center – Full text access to three key resources--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites.
In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service, an arm of the Library of Congress, serves the legislative process by providing Congress with non-partisan and in-depth legislative research and analysis on a variety of topics. CRS produces or updates more than 3,000 studies and other publications each year.
Congressional Digest Debates Online
The source formerly known as Pro & Con Online consists of three separate publications--Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates--that explore issues debated in society, on the Supreme Court, and internationally. Library's subscription limited to 15 simultaneous users.
Biography Reference Bank
Journal articles, books, and other resources offering biographical information on individuals living and deceased. Also contains over 36,000 images.
E-Reference Shelf - Includes general & subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. such as Britannica Online and Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History.
EBSCO eBooks (formerly EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 22,000 digital versions of books.
In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook.
Surf on in to a webpage on your topic? Look at it critically!
MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53