Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 111: College Composition I
Nancy Gold


Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.

Access World News – Full text coverage of over 600 U.S. and 500 international newspapers, wire services, and news agencies. Dates of coverage varies; primarily 1990's to present.


NMU Archives Genealogy Resources
(M-F 8-12, 1-5)

Evening at the Archives (very short video focusing on genealogy resources)


Marquette Regional History Center (M-F 10-5, Sat 10-3)

Peter White Public Library Genealogy
(M-R 9-9, F 9-6, Sat 10-5, Su 1-6)

 

Finding Library Materials

Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.

Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalogs.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.

Upper Peninsula History Sections:
F
572
.N8

To find old Upper Peninsula newspapers on microfilm (located in Archives), use the following format & perform a keyword search in the catalog above:

name of city newspapers


Resources About Names: See CS section in Reference, plus:

Behind the Name: The Etymology and History of First Names   Etymological dictionary of first names. The site also features most popular names, namesakes, name days, family tree for names, related names, popularity in some countries, and a name translator. Created and maintained by a hobbyist.

The Century Cyclopedia of Names (1900) (Edited by Benjamin E. Smith. London: The Times.

The New Century Cyclopedia of Names (1954, 3 volumes) Ref PE 1625 .C43 1954

Links2History: Name Origins Ancient Surname meanings.

A Dictionary of First Names (2nd edition) (Patrick Hanks, Kate Hardcastle, and Flavia Hodges, Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006) [ONLY 5 SIMULTANEOUS ACCESSES TO OXFORD ONLINE COLLECTION]

The Concise Dictionary of World Place-Names (2nd edition) (John Everett-Heath, Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010)
[ONLY 5 SIMULTANEOUS ACCESSES TO OXFORD ONLINE COLLECTION]

Place-names dictionaries (Published by Oxford University Press)
[ONLY 5 SIMULTANEOUS ACCESSES TO OXFORD ONLINE COLLECTION]


Cyndi's List - Names - Locality & Ethnic (British, Cornish, Chinese, etc. - Links to resources)



Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 10-14 days and you will be notified by e-mail when your items arrive.

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.

 

Biographical & Genealogical Resources
Click on the Click on the Find It link to locate a copy of an article.

Source  

Description/Notes
Dates Covered

Ancestry Chart (fillable Excel & Word templates) download using Internet Explorer

Download template through Excel or Word [New document - Search Microsoft online using the word: genealogy

 
ReferenceUSA Nationwide directory of people (name, address, phone, interests) Current
World Names Profiler
(FPM = Frequency per Million of name)
Popularity of surnames (last names) around the world. Provides maps of name concentration.

n/a
Heritage Quest Online Includes searchable full-image of U.S. Census Population Schedules (name, address, nationality, etc.).
Thousands of online full-text/image resources including local history books (click on Search Books).

Census 1790-1940 (1930 incomplete); other works published various years

Family Search

(Free Registration for greater access)

Massive, searchable site of genealogical records worldwide. Includes U.S. Social Security Death Index and state death indexes. Maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. New site now offering some record images.

Varies
Obituary Daily Times (index only) The Obituary Daily Times is a daily index of published obituaries throughout the world. Searchable by married or maiden name. Entries include name, age, city where died, name and date of newspaper.
Note: Information contributed by volunteers, so coverage dates vary by newspaper.

Approximately
1999 - present
Obituaries on the web - Canada only Provides links to major funeral home web sites, and newspapers arranged by province.

 
Newspaper Databases

Access World News

 

 

The Mining Journal (Mqt)

Wall Street Journal

 

Full text coverage of over 600 U.S. and 500 international newspapers, wire services, and news agencies.

copy & paste following into top search box, then enter last name in second search box:

obituar* or death or funeral

 

 

 

1990's - present

 



 

1982 - present

Ellis Island Records Searchable Port of New York passenger records. Provides residence, year arrived, age upon arrival, passenger record, ship manifest, & ship image. Viewing records requires registration.

1892 - 1924


RootsWeb

popular searchable genealogy site  

Cyndi's List


THE web resource for genealogy  
     
Biography Reference Bank Journal articles, books, and other resources offering biographical information on individuals living and deceased. Also contains over 36,000 images.

All years
Biography & Genealogy Master Index

Indexes 1,000's of biographical books, directories, Who's Who, etc. All years
ReadersGuideRetro Indexes popular magazines 1890 - 1982
Literature Resource Center Provides full-text access to three recognized author collections -- Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography --along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites.
To find people, Select Person Search tab.
All years
Historical Maps American Memory Project - Library of Congress 1500 - present
Google Maps    
American Memory Project (advanced search)


Online full-text/full-image book digitization projects (full or partial access)

Heritage Quest Online Click on Search Books link to access thousands of online full-text/image resources including family histories & local history books.

Internet Archive - Online text collections, fully searchable, non-profit, no registration/account required.
May download entire books, videos, etc.

Hathi Trust - Online text collections, fully searchable, non-profit, no registration/account required.
May not download
entire books (only member universities).

Google Book Search (advanced mode) - Online text & magazine collections, fully searchable, for-profit, Google account required to view selected text. May not download entire books or magazines..

American Memory Project (Library of Congress) - Searchable database of primary & secondary material including photographs.

Google (Advanced Search) - More control over search results.


Specialized/Focused Resources

CQ Researcher
In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Unlimited number of simultaneous users.

Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service, an arm of the Library of Congress, serves the legislative process by providing Congress with non-partisan and in-depth legislative research and analysis on a variety of topics. CRS produces or updates more than 3,000 studies and other publications each year.

Congressional Digest Debates Online
The source formerly known as Pro & Con Online consists of three separate publications--Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates--that explore issues debated in society, on the Supreme Court, and internationally. Library's subscription limited to 15 simultaneous users.

Biography Reference Bank
Journal articles, books, and other resources offering biographical information on individuals living and deceased. Also contains over 36,000 images.

E-Reference Shelf - Includes general & subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. such as Britannica Online & Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History. Other specialized encyclopedias include American Folklore: An Encyclopedia, and St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.

EBSCO eBooks (formerly EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 22,000 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook.

Literature Resource Center – Full text access to three key resources--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. 1991 to present.

Surf on in to a webpage on your topic? Look at it critically!


MLA Style
MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53


If Prof. Strahan is unavailable:
please stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources. 
You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours