Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 111: College Composition I
Dr. Haltof

Library Resource Guide
Instruction Provided by Sara Jane Tompkins


Library Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.

****The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  See Journal and Magazine Articles below for locating articles.

eBooks (EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 19,500 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook. You can view the book for 15 minutes (no account needed) or checkout the book for 6 hours (requires creating a free account).

Reference Materials
The Motion Picture Guide - find filmographies of actors, movie synopses, and cast listings. Covers films 1910 - 1991. Call number: Ref. PN 1993 .M4334


Journal and Magazine Articles

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Reader'sGuideAbs
Index to articles from over 300 popular magazines and journals. Articles cover a broad range of subject areas including: business, consumer affairs, education, news and current events, fashion, fine arts, health and nutrition, and sports. Coverage begins in 1983.


Newspaper Articles
Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.


Web Resources
The Internet Movie Database [IMDb] - A database of more than 200,000 titles.

Movie Review Query Engine -Search for movie reviews.

Rotten Tomatoes - Movie synopses, film reviews, and more. Critics must belong to an accredited film reviewer society/association or be currently employed as a film critic. Reviews from over 75 sources.

Film Literature Index - Contains 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews, and book reviews published between 1976-2001.


MLA Style
MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA styl
e.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours