EN 111: College Composition I
Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.
The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.). Use one of the databases listed further on this guide for locating articles.
When searching the Library Catalog for books, etc on college topics, first try this general search format:
combine the following any terms as subject and your topic
Example:
college? universit? "higher education" [any of these] Subject
recycling
The terminology for locating college information varies from database to database.
One possibility is to use the database Subject Guide.
However, also consider searching by combining your topic (including variations) with the following terms (recommend you copy & paste into a separate search box):
college* OR universit* OR "higher education"
your topic
CQ Researcher
In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Academic OneFile
Index to articles in over 10,000 scholarly journals and some general periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 journal titles. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.
ERIC
An abstract database to scholarly & trade journal articles in the field of education. Also includes references/full text to ERIC Documents (reports/documents, lesson plans, theses, dissertations, and conference papers).
General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.
Access World News
Access World News provides full text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all newspapers or titles from a particular state, country, or continent. While coverage varies from title to title and typically goes back only to the late 1990's, some titles extend back to the mid 1970's.
Includes major newspapers such as New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Detroit Free Press.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Covers the broad field of science and technology including
chemistry, computer technology, data processing, energy, engineering, mathematics, and physics.
General Science Abstracts
Index to articles covering all of the sciences including
astronomy and physics, atmospheric science, chemistry, conservation and the environment, earth science, food and nutrition, the life sciences (including genetics, physiology, and health and medicine), mathematics, oceanography, and physics.
Humanities Abstracts
Index to scholarly periodical articles in the fields collectively called the humanities. This includes archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, food, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion.
Plagiarism is using someone else's ideas or words & claiming them as your own without properly citing or attributing to the source. As the wealth of information in a variety of formats become easier to access on the Internet, it is increasingly important to properly cite where you find information. For further information, consult the NMU Writing Center handout on plagiarism, and the NMU Student Handbook policies on Academic Dishonesty under Student Rights & Responsibilities section 1.2.3,
& Student Code section 2.2.3.
APA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Consult the Manual in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site. Reference Collection: Ref. BF 76.7 P83 2001
MLA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53
Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" assistance including interactive chat, phone (227-2294) or email (info@nmu.edu). |