Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 111: College Composition I
Ms. Samantha Hilton

Library Resource Guide
Instruction provided by
Mike Strahan

Use the Library Map to find the location of materials listed in the library catalog.
For help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.


Finding Primary Resources & Materials

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

Search by combining your topic with the following terms (recommend you copy & paste into a separate search box):

your topic [all of these]
diaries narratives correspondence letters
[any of these]

For example:

world war
diaries narratives correspondence letters

American Memory Project (Library of Congress) - Searchable database of primary & secondary material including photographs.

Search manuscript & correspondence collections

Newspapers

Access World News - Articles published mid-1970's to present
(Search 'Regional' or 'Michigan' Newspapers for local & regional newspapers). Access World News provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.


Regional Resources (all different types including primary & visual)

Central U.P. & NMU Archives - Suggestion: Collections

The Making of Modern Michigan: Upper Peninsula Regional Digitization Center
The Making of Modern Michigan: Digitizing Michigan's Hidden Past
Michigan Libraries and organizations are contributing to this site in an effort to digitize print and visual material. Materials dating from 1880's forward can be found on this site. Search the collection by keyword or subject. Also includes county histories and digital oral histories .

Upper Peninsula Region of Library Cooperation Library Catalog - includes holdings of Marquette Public Library, & other U.P. Libraries (use interlibrary loan to request materials from libraries outside of the City of Marquette).

Marquette County Historical Museum J.M. Longyear Research Library


Finding Visual Sources Online

Search American Memory Project Photos & Prints

Search American Memory Project Motion Pictures (movies)

Google Images Advanced Search

Internet Archive - Extensive collection of archival visual resources. Check out the Wayback Machine to access old web pages.


General Databases with Journal & Magazine Articles
Click on the Click on the button to locate a copy of an article.

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Full text articles published 1983-present; coverage varies widely from title to title.

Academic OneFile
Index to articles in over 10,000 scholarly journals and some general periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 journal titles. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

ReadersGuideRetro
Index to popular magazine articles published 1890 - 1982.

American History & Life
Search this index to find articles from all American History journals & magazines.

Click here to view entire list of databases by Subject


Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraies.  The average time to receive requested materials is 10-14 days and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.


Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours