Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


En 111 Career Resources Library Guide

Mr. Jordan Meyers

Updated 09/15/10

CAREER RESOURCES

Books & Other Library Materials

Use the Library Map to find the location of services, & materials listed in the library catalog.

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.

For career information, search under the term vocational guidance and your profession/career (e.g. social work vocational guidance or nursing vocational guidance).

Key Sources - Click here for APA & MLA Style reference format examples of these works
The following sources contain brief information on a wide variety of careers/occupations.

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
- Ref. HF 5381 .E52

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Source for occupational information including training & education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, working conditions. Print version in Reference. HD 8051 .A62.

Career Outlook - Published Quarterly by the U. S. Dept of Labor, Bureau of Labor and Statistics. Print copies in periodicals: HF 5382.5 .U5 O3. Indexed in several databases available at NMU.

Career Guide to Industries - Focus on industry not specific occupations. Print version in Reference HD 8051 .A64.

O*NET Formerly the Dictionary of Occupational Titles , this online resource is touted as the nation's primary resource of occupation information.

Selected Web Sites - Click here for APA & MLA Style reference format examples of these works

America's Career InfoNet ** Excellent listing of related careers & state-specific comprehensive Information **
Michigan Occupational Reports for Exploration

New and Emerging Occupations, a resource from Michigan Jobs & Career Portal.
Michigan Helping Hand website. More than career resources here. "This site helps Michigan citizens facing economic hardship find the services they need. Simply click on one of the five tabs below for links to information about jobs and training, unemployment benefits, health care, family support and housing. Then click on the particular links that describes the help you're seeking."

Employment Online Resources. A large list of websites covering specific fields, job descriptions, job listings, and resume & salary information.

LearningExpressLibrary.
This resource lets you take tests, courses, and exercises related to many careers.


Find Journal and Magazine Articles about a product or brand

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 11,000 titles. Contains full-text articles from over 6,300 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Newspapers

Access World News
Access World News provides full text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all newspapers or titles from a particular state, country, or continent. While coverage varies from title to title and typically goes back only to the late 1990's, some titles extend back to the mid 1970's.


Plagiarism and Style Guides (citing your sources)
Plagiarism is using someone else's ideas or words & claiming them as your own. You must properly cite or attribute a source when you are using someone else's ideas. As the wealth of information in a variety of formats become easier to access on the Internet, it is increasingly important to properly cite where you find information. For further information, consult the NMU Writing Center handout on plagiarism, and the NMU Student Handbook policies on Academic Dishonesty under Student Rights & Responsibilities section 1.2.3, & Student Code section 2.2.3.

MLA Style Reference Formats Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53


Library Assistance

Olson Library "Ask A Librarian" assistance including interactive chat, phone (227-2294) or email (info@nmu.edu).


Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours