Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 111: College Composition I
Heidi Stevenson

Library Resource Guide

Selected Sources

Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  See Journal and Magazine Articles below for locating articles.

Reference Shelf
Each issue of the Reference Shelf contains a series of articles on current topics in the news or other public policy issues. Published 5 times a year. To see the list in order by the most recent date, sort by publishing date descending.


Journal and Magazine Articles

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.


Newspaper Articles
Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents.


MLA Style
MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials according to APA sytle.


Resources for Extra Credit Handbook
The OWL at Purdue

Guide to Grammar & Writing

Cal. State University Northridge, Writing Center



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours