Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211: College Composition II

Library Resource Guide

 

Newspaper Articles

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 800 U.S. and over 1300 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.

Subject-Specific Resources

Business (including Hospitality and Advertising)

ABI/INFORM Global – Journal articles, newspapers, and reports covering all aspects of business. Direct company link to Hoover's company information & analysis. 1971 to present.

Legal Materials

Westlaw Campus Research – Provides access to a variety of legal information, including federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, state statutes and administrative codes, and more. Also included are 900 law journals and reviews.

Social Sciences

Social Services Abstracts – Journal articles and other resources focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. 1979 to present.

Sociological Abstracts – Journal articles, books, and other resources on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Subjects include demography, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, social psychology, human biology, women's studies, health, medicine, law, etc. 1952 to present; abstracts since 1974.

 

Current Issues

CQ Researcher – In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Literary and media criticism

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature.

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. When searching for a particular work, change the drop-down menu on the search screen to "All Text (tx)" for best results.

General full-text resources that can be searched by category

JSTOR – Complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals. 1878 to the most recent 1-5 years (varies by title).

Project MUSE - Standard Collection – An interdisciplinary collection of over 300 high quality, peer reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries

MelCat, the Michigan Electronic Library Catalog, allows you to search public and academic libraries throughout the State of Michigan and request books and media. Items usually arrive in about a week. This resource is provided by the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org). You will be notified by email when your items arrive.

InterLibrary Loan also allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson LIbrary. Books, periodical articles,and other sources can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to recieve requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.

Style Guides

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to APA style. The guide also includes instructions for locating the doi for articles.

Zotero
Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/. The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well. If MLA 8th edition is not showing as an option in Zotero, got to https://www.zotero.org/styles?q=MLA and click on the link to Modern Language Association 8th edition. You'll be asked if you want to open this file in Zotero (say yes), and then it will be added to your Zotero.

Microsoft Word
You can also store and format citations in Microsoft Word. Click here for instructions.


Need further assistance? Stop by the Olson Library Public Services Desk for assistance, or contact Mollie Freier.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours