EN 211A College Composition II:
Literature and Writing
Library Resource Guide
Literary Criticism and Biographical Information Sources
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. Also included is a literary-historical timeline with over 6,700 events to help place literature in its historical and social context, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring more than 10,000 descriptive entries on literary figures, works, and terms.
A database of more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals from all fields of study. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.
When looking for literary criticism or biographical information in the library catalog, select the Library of Congress Subject Heading button and enter the author's name, last name first (ex. Stein, Gertrude). Pay particular attention to the subheading Criticism and Interpretation (Stein, Gertrude - Criticism and Interpretation).
MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature. Use the button to determine if the library owns a particular book or journal article.
Google's index to the scholarly literature. Covers all subjects and disciplines. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
An index to more than 13 million biographical sketches found in hundreds of standard reference sources. Since Olson Library does not own all of the sources, consult the library catalog to determine if we have a particular reference title.
Biography Reference Bank (1984-present)
Indexes Collection: AP 2 .B5 (1946-1983)
An index to biographical information found in over 2,700 periodicals and 1,800 books. Use the printed indexes for information published before 1984.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1921-2002)
Books, LRC 3rd Floor: PE 10 .M69
An international bibliography of scholarship about English language and literature published annually by the Modern Humanities Research Association in Cambridge, England. While each year must be searched individually, this source compliments the MLA International Bibliography and contains many sources not found in the MLA bibliography. Consult the index for particular authors.
Articles on Twentieth Century Literature
Reference Collection: PN 771 .P66
Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication
Reference Collection: PN 3373 .W35
These two sources are bibliographies listing articles on a wide variety of authors and works.
Book Review Index (1965-2003)
Indexes Collection: Z 1035 .A1 B6
Another source of potential book reviews.
Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library. Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive. Consult the above link to submit a request and for further details.
MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.
Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources. You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.