About the Library
EN 211A: Writing and Literature
Library Resource Guide
To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.
The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.). Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.
Biographical Information Resources
Literature Resource Center – Full text access to three key resources--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. 1991 to present.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index – References to over 3 million biographical sketches from reference sources on individuals living and deceased. Sources include biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, volumes of literary criticism, and other reference sources. Brought to you by the State of Michigan via the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org).
The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).
Biography Reference Bank – Books and journal articles covering interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews,and more of notable individuals from antiquity to the present. 1984 to present. The printed indexes are available in the Indexes section on LRC 2nd floor, call number AP 2 .B5, and cover 1946-1983.
Historical and Cultural Information Sources
America: History & Life (EBSCO) – Journal articles, books, and other resources covering history and culture, area studies, and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1964 – present.
MLA International Bibliography – Journals, books, and other resources in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Also includes materials on film studies. 1926 to present.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1921-2002)
Book Review Index (1965-1979, 1983-2007)
Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries
MelCat, the Michigan Electronic Library Catalog, allows you to search public and academic libraries throughout the State of Michigan and request books and media. Items usually arrive in about a week. This resource is provided by the Michigan eLibrary (http://mel.org). You will be notified by email when your items arrive.
InterLibrary Loan also allows you to obtain materials not owned by the Olson LIbrary. Books, periodical articles,and other sources can be borrowed from other libraries. The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.
Need further assistance? Stop by the Olson Library Public Services Desk for assistance, or contact Mollie Freier.