Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211A
Literature and Writing

Library Resource Guide

Library Materials


Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers .

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  See Journal and Magazine Articles below for locating articles.

eBooks (EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 22,000 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook.

 

Electronic Sources from the Library

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections from Gale Publishers-- Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography --along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. When searching for your particular work, change the drop-down menu on the search screen to "All Text (tx)" for best results.

Biography Reference Bank
Both a full text database and index to biographical information including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries on individuals living and deceased.

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
The premier index to scholarly publications of all kinds (books, articles, theses, etc.) in the field of literature. Use the http://library.nmu.edu/guides/courseguides/images/findit100X16.gifbutton to determine if the library owns a particular book or journal article.

 

Additional Sources for Those Hard to Find Authors/Works

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
An index to more than 13 million biographical sketches found in hundreds of standard reference sources.  Since Olson Library does not own all of the sources, consult the library catalog to determine if we have a particular reference title.

Google Scholar
Google's index to the scholarly literature. Covers all subjects and disciplines. Look for the "Full-Text @ NMU" link to obtain an electronic copy of the article or the "Locate a print copy @ NMU" to see if the library has the item in our print collection.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1921-2002)
Books, LRC 3rd Floor: PE 10 .M69
An international bibliography of scholarship about English language and literature published annually by the Modern Humanities Research Association in Cambridge, England. While each year must be searched individually, this source compliments the MLA International Bibliography and contains many sources not found in the MLA bibliography. Consult the index for particular authors.

Articles on Twentieth Century Literature
Reference Collection: PN 771 .P66
Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication
Reference Collection: PN 3373 .W35
These two sources are bibliographies listing articles on a wide variety of authors and works.

Book Review Index (1965-2003)
Indexes Collection: Z 1035 .A1 B6
Another source of potential book reviews.

 

Borrowing Materials From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain materials not owned by Olson Library.  Materials such as books and periodical articles, among other sources, can be borrowed from other libraries.  The average time to receive requested materials is 1-2 weeks and you will be notified by email when your items arrive.  Consult the above link to submit a request and for further details.

MLA Style

MLA Style Guide
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53.
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers .  Consult the Handbook in the library reference collection for sources not listed at this site.

Need Further Assistance?

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours