Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN211B: Narrative and Descriptive Writing

Julie Burn

Instruction Provided by SaraJane Tompkins

Library Resources

Library Catalog : The library catalog catalogs (naturally) books,periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials that Olson library owns. To find magazine or journal articles, use the resources listed below.

MLA Style Guide This is a basic guide - if you have any questions come up to the reference desk and we'll help you figure it out.

CQ Researcher : In-depth, non-biased reports on political and social issues, with regular coverage of topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. CQ Researcher is particularly helpful as each article generally includes information on opposing views, giving both sides of the issue.

Journal and Magazine Articles

Literature Resource Center
Provides access to three recognized author collections -- Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography --along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites. When searching for your particular work, change the drop-down menu on the search screen to "All Text (tx)" for best results. l context, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature , featuring more than 10,000 descriptive entries on literary figures, works, and terms.

Academic One File : Journal articles from more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals across all fields of study. Indexing from 1980 to present; full-text from 1989 to present.*

America, History & Life : Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.*

JSTOR   The complete, searchable, full text articles from over 1,000 core scholarly journals (every issue up to the last 1-5 years). Journals are divided into 47 disciplines including, Psychology  (7 journals) , Education (50 journal titles), Sociology (47 titles), General Science  (8 journals). Coverage: 1878 to "moving wall" of 1-5 years before the most recently published issue.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles : Not all articles are the same. The majority of articles that you will need to use for your research and assignments will need to be scholarly (sometimes also called "peer-reviewed"). This guide will tell you how to critique an article and decide if it's scholarly or not.

*These resources will require you to log in using your webmail id and password if you access them from a non-NMU internet connection

Internet Sources

Google Scholar
Contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Provides unique features, such as relevance ranking of your results, the ability to find "Related Articles", and the opportunity to see other papers that have cited a specific paper. A couple of drawbacks include limited searching capabilities (full text or title), and no consistent links directly to the article.

Need Further Assistance?

You can contact SaraJane Tompkins by email or by phone at 227-2431.

 

 

Stop by the Reference Desk for further assistance with any of these sources.  You can also contact the Reference Desk through live chat or by phone at 227-2294.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours