Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211B: Narrative/Descriptive Writing
Lynn Fay

Library Resource Guide


Click on the Catalog tab above to search the library catalog for books, titles of periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns. 

To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map. Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Additional resources for books: the MelCat catalog and the WorldCat catalog.

The Library Catalog cannot be used to find articles in magazines, journals, or newspapers, only which magazines and journals the library owns (Time, Newsweek, etc.).  Instead, use the OneSearch tab above to search for articles.
Do not forget to put author's name and book title within quotation marks " "
Example: "love medicine" "Louise Erdrich"
If searching only for works about author, type only name within quotation marks.
Example: "Louise Erdrich"


Specialized/Focused Resources

Literature Resource Center – Full text access to three key resources--Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography--along with over 300 journals, a variety of other important reference works, and selected Web sites.

MLA International Bibliography Journals, books, and other resources in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Also includes materials on film studies. 1926 to present.

Biography Reference Bank
Journal articles, books, and other resources offering biographical information on individuals living and deceased. Also contains over 36,000 images.

E-Reference Shelf - Includes general & subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. such as Britannica Online.

EBSCO eBooks (formerly EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 22,000 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook.

Surf on in to a webpage on your topic? Look at it critically!


MLA Style
MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite some of the more common sources, including web sites and online articles, according to the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Handbook in the library Reference Collection for sources not listed at this site.
Reference Collection: LB 2369 .G53

Zotero
Zotero is a free extension to Mozilla Firefox. It stores citation information, and, with the use of Microsoft Word, will allow you to create citations as you write your paper and then create your works cited page at the end. You can download the extension at http://www.zotero.org/ . The Olson Library provides a guide for the use of Zotero as well.

Microsoft Word
You can also store and format citations in Microsoft Word. Click here for instructions.


Need further assistance? Stop by the Olson Library Public Services Desk for assistance, or contact Mollie Freier .



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours