Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211 B: Narrative/Descriptive Writing
Professor Alisa Hummell

Library Resource Guide

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style.

Library Materials
Library Catalog
Indicates the books, periodicals, government documents, and audiovisual materials the library owns.  It cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns.  Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.To find the location of materials listed in the library catalog, see the Library Map . Also, for help with call numbers including an outline of call numbers by subject see the Guide to Library of Congress Call Numbers.

eBooks (EBSCO eBook Collection)
A collection of more than 19,500 digital versions of books. In addition to being able to navigate through the contents of a book page by page, you have the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents, the Index, or to search the full text of the eBook. You can view the book for 15 minutes (no account needed) or checkout the book for 6 hours (requires creating a free account).

Reference Materials
REF HV 6245 .F74 1996
Murder Cases of the Twentieth Century by David Frasier provides synopses of murders and their crimes.

REF HV 6789. S54 2001 v.1-2
The Encyclopedia of American Crime by Carl Sifakis contains entries on murders, victims, detectives, reporters, trials, lawyers, and among many other crime related people, places, and objects.

REF HV 7901 E53 1995
The Encyclopedia of Police Science edited by William G. Bailey contains entries on types and methods of analysis. Talks about steps to solving crimes and some of the obstacles police run into while trying to do so. This would be a good book for gathering back information and a better understanding of what actually goes on.


Journal and Magazine Articles

General OneFile
Index to articles in over 9,000 general and scholarly periodicals. Contains full-text articles from over 5,000 magazine and journal titles as well as newspapers from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Services.  Indexing begins in 1980 with full text starting in 1983.  Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Reader'sGuideAbs
Index to articles from over 300 popular magazines and journals. Articles cover a broad range of subject areas including: business, consumer affairs, education, news and current events, fashion, fine arts, health and nutrition, and sports. Coverage begins in 1983.

Reader's Guide Retro: 1890-1982
A cumulative index to periodicals of general interest dating back to the turn of the century. Search by author or subject. You can limit your search to book, drama and ballet reviews as well as opera, television, movie and record reviews. Date of Coverage: 1890 to 1982.


Newspaper Articles
Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s. Excluded are any photos or graphs, along with paid advertising, classifieds, and paid obituaries.


Print Indexes
REF Index AI 3 P71
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1899

REF Index AI 3 R47
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature 1890- Feb. 1984

REF Index AI 21 A1 N48
Newsbank 1976-1996

REF Index AI 21 N45
New York Times 1862-2004

REF Index AI 21 T46
The Times 1785,1786, 1790-1996

REF Index H6 1 W26
Wall Street Journal 1956-1985


Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Acquiring materials not held by Olson Library

** New ** ILLIAD system Before submitting your first ILL request, you must register with the system (one time) using your NMU student ID. General Information & Registration

Before submitting request, you must verify through Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings and the NMU library catalog that we do not subscribe to journal/magazine issue in either paper or online formats, or we do not hold the book/video/etc.

While in an online database (e.g., MLA), submit request by clicking on Request form link located in popup box.

Allow minimum of 10 days to receive materials; request default is 30 days.

 



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours