Olson Library Home Page Visit NMU's Home Page Olson Library Home Page Visit the NMU Home Page MyNMU EduCat

 


EN 211B: Narrative & Descriptive Writing
Library Resource Guide

Prof. Rosie Larrin
Help available from or Dr. Mollie Freier

Revised 3/31/2011

Locating Books & Government Documents

Library Catalog
Used primarily to locate the books and government documents the library owns. Keep in mind that books tend to give a broad understanding of a topic and are better sources when trying to find the history of a topic.

Cannot be used to find articles in magazines or journals, only which magazines and journals the library owns. Use one of the databases listed below for locating articles.

CQ Researcher
A weekly publication covering the critical events and controversial subjects of the day.  Each issue offers an in-depth analysis of a contemporary topic.  A good source for selecting a topic since you can browse issues by topic. Also available in-print from 1991-2003 in the bound Periodicals Collection (call number: H 35 .E352).

USA.gov
Specialized search engine covering both federal and state government web sites.


Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles - General/All Subjects

Quick Search
Searches quite a number of general databases. Some include full text. Great for searching obscure topics.

Academic OneFile
A database of more than 8,000 scholarly and general periodicals from all fields of study. Full text coverage varies widely from title to title.

Access World News
Access World News provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international news sources. You can search across all the content or on particular states, countries, or continents. Indexing is cover-to-cover and coverage extends for some titles back to the mid 1970s.


Journal Articles - Subject Specific

Medicine, Health, & Sports

Health Reference Center Academic
Academic titles in all areas of health, medicine, & nursing. Indexes major journals; some full-text.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Covers nursing and allied/public health materials. Indexes almost all nursing journals, and major medical/health journals.

PubMed
Index to periodical articles covering biomedical research and the clinical sciences including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences.

SportDiscus
The premier index covering all practical and research literature of international sports.


Computers and Technology

ACM Digital Library - A collection of citations and full text from the Association for Computing Machinery publications. All resources are online full-image, and includes journal and newsletter articles, and conference proceedings.

Computer Database
Index to periodical articles covering all aspects of computer technology. Full-text articles are available for over 25% of the periodicals indexed.


Business and Economics

ABI/INFORM Global
The premier index to periodical articles covering all aspects of business. Full-text articles are available for over 60% of the periodicals indexed.


Natural Sciences

BioOne (CSA)
Over 80 full-text journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Emphasis on plant, animal, and ecological research. Limited coverage of biomedical, cellular, or molecular biology literature, especially as it relates to humans.

Geobase
A multidisciplinary database providing citations and abstracts to topics in physical geography,ecology, geography, oceanography, geomechanics, and international development studies.


Social Sciences

Simultaneously Search Psychology & Sociology databases
Includes PsycARTICLES & PsycBOOKS full-text, PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, ERIC (Education), National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts, & PILOTS (Citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.)

PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)
Produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, and indexes journal articles, books, theses/dissertations, and other resources. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts - Contains journal articles, books, and other resources on the subjects of corrections, courts, drugs, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. 1970 to the present.

ERIC 
Indexes scholarly/professional Education journals, and ERIC Documents (ED's) (reports/documents, lesson plans, conference papers, theses, and dissertations--many freely available online).
Covers material published 1966-present.


Style Guides

MLA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to MLA style

APA Style Guide
Examples of how to cite a variety of materials, including full text articles, according to APA style


Need Further Assistance?

You can contact the Reference Desk through the live chat service or by phone at 227-2250.



Library Hours
Mon: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu: 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat: 12:00 noon - 8:00 p.m.
Sun: CLOSED
For exceptions and full year hours